FEATURED: 'ofori-Atta's Performance Shockingly Abysmal; He Fooled Hypocritical I...

06.02.2013 Politics

Ahiafor wins Akatsi-South bye-election

Listen to article

Akatsi, Feb 6, GNA - Mr Bernard Ahiafor, 39, a lawyer, representing the National Democratic Congress (NDC), has won the Akatsi-South bye-election held on Tuesday.

He polled 12,079 votes, followed by Evans Dzikunu, also a lawyer and standing as an Independent Candidate polled 8,312 votes.

The other two contestants, Mr Anthony Tsikata for the Progressive Peoples Party (PPP) had 369 and Mr Ben Agbovi, New Vision Party (NVP) got 126 votes.

The bye-election became necessary when Mr Edward Doe Adjaho, who won that seat for the sixth consecutive time, was made the Speaker of Parliament and vacated the seat.

Turnout was generally low with hardly any queues.
At the Dzogadzi Polling Station with 917 on the voters' register, 182 people voted as at 1320 hours, out of 234 people on the voters list at Mameto only 45 had voted by noon.

At the Agbedrafor Polling Station, 277 out 902 had voted by 1400 hours while 319 out 880 voters had cast their votes at Duawodome centre by 1430 hours.

Mr Adjaho, the current Speaker of Parliament, polled 21,588 votes to win the seat last December while Mr Dzikunu, who again stood the bye-elections, had 9,945 votes.

There were two others in December last year, Leo-nelson Adzidogah, New Patriotic Party (NPP), 1,388 and Ametame Japhet, PPP, 251 votes.

The NPP boycotted the bye-elections in view of the party's challenge of results put out by Electoral Commission of Ghana (EC) for the December 2012 presidential elections.

It said it was the same EC it was in contention with that was holding this bye-election.


Powered By Modern Ghana