01.11.2007 NPP News

NPP Filing Fees Not Refundable ·Lord Commey

By Daily Guide
Listen to article

THE NATIONAL Organiser of the ruling New Patriotic Party (NPP), Mr. Lord Commey, has stated that the party would not refund monies paid as filing fees to aspirants who will be disqualified from contesting the presidential slot slated for December 22.

“Unfortunately, the filing fee will not be refunded to whoever is disqualified by the vetting committee,” he observed on Joy FM's Super Morning Show.

His comments had since attracted mixed reactions from some members and sympathisers of the party when DAILY GUIDE sought their views.

But Mr. John Boadu, the party's National Youth Organiser, could not confirm whether or not such a decision had been approved by the National Executive Council (NEC).

He told DAILY GUIDE in a telephone interview that the process of disqualifying an aspirant was a different ball game altogether, saying that would be determined by the party's constitutional requirements.

He explained that an aspirant could be disqualified if he is found not to have been an active member of the party, especially in terms of payment of dues for at least five years; if the person has not attained age 40 and above; has a criminal record; fails to sign an undertaking to support whoever wins the slot as well as the one who has not been a member of good standing.

Mr. Boadu explained further that the party had its own sanctions to apply against an aspirant who after signing the undertaking, failed to support the person who wins at the primaries to become the presidential candidate of the party.

He however made it clear that from his own observation, the committee was unlikely to disqualify any of the aspirants.
“From the look of things, I believe all of them would go through the process successfully.”

Vetting of the presidential aspirants began last Tuesday, with Alan Kyerematen, former Minister of Trade and Industry, and Hackman Owusu-Agyemang, former Minister of Water Resources, Works and Housing, being the first to be vetted.

Some members of the committee, chaired by Prof. Daniel Adzei Bekoe, Chairman of the Council of State, include Mr. Peter Ala Adjetey, former Speaker of Parliament; Madam Amma Busia, a member of the Council of State; Health Minister Maj. Courage Quashigah (rtd); Mr. John Agyabeng who would serve as secretary to the Committee; and Mr. R.R. Amponsah, Chairman of the party's Council of Elders.

By Grace Eyram Dartey

ModernGhana Links

Join our Newsletter