Modern Ghana logo

FEATURED: The Gods On African Thrones...

Jul 9, 2010 | World Cup 2010

2010 World Cup: Asamoah Gyan for best player award

Asamoah Gyan
Asamoah Gyan

Three Spain players have been named on the 10-man shortlist for the 2010 World Cup Golden Ball award - given to the player of the tournament.

Striker David Villa is joined by midfield pair Xavi and Andres Iniesta.

Fellow finalists the Netherlands have Wesley Sneijder, who like Villa has five goals, and Arjen Robben listed.

Germany duo Bastian Schweinsteiger and Mesut Ozil, Argentina's Lionel Messi, Uruguay's Diego Forlan and Ghana's Asamoah Gyan are the other contenders.

Meanwhile, Germany's Thomas Mueller is among three candidates on the shortlist for the best young player at the World Cup.

Andre Ayew of Ghana and Mexico's Giovani dos Santos are also in contention.

Mueller scored four goals in Germany's run to the semi-finals but was suspended for the 1-0 defeat to Spain.

Football's world governing body Fifa will announce the winners for both awards following Sunday's World Cup final.

Powered By Modern Ghana