ModernGhana logo
17.06.2004 Football News

Hearts free for Congress

Listen to article

Accra, June 17, GNA - Accra Hearts of Oak Sporting Club have been cleared to proceed with its Congress which was put off as a result of a court injunction.

An Accra High Court on Wednesday declined to grant an injunction restraining the Club from organising the Congress, which was originally scheduled for June 5.

In a statement signed by Mr Ernest Thompson, Board Secretary of the club said the main suit has however been adjourned to July 7 for hearing whilst the contempt suit comes off on July 21.

Mr Bright Akwetey, former Board Secretary of the Club filed the motion for injunction to restrain the Club from proceeding with its Congress.

The statement said that cost was awarded in favour of the club. It added that officials of the club would soon meet to discuss the issues of the Congress vis-a-vis the main suit and would advise its members on the way forward.

Meanwhile the Management of the Club have congratulated all supporters of the club for the maturity they displayed so far since the injunction was placed on the Congress.

It would be recalled that an Accra High Court placed an injunction on July on the Club against it for organising its Congress to elect new directors to steer the affairs of the club.

In another development, members of the Accra Hearts of Oak Old Players Association would play a special match with old players of the Black Stars at the Accra Sports Stadium on Saturday, June 19.

The match is in honour of Henry Emmanuel Nii Ofei Dodoo a former player of Hearts and the Black Stars who died lately to join his ancestors.

The match to kick off at 7:30 am, forms part of the programme of funeral activities lined up by the Old Players for the for their departed colleague who would be laid in state at the Presidential box of the Accra Sports Stadium.

Among some of the old players expected to be in action are Addo Odametey, Aggrey Fynn, Osei Kofi, Wiberforce Mfum, Dodoo Ankrah, Awuley Quaye, Ibrahim Sunday, Awuley Quaye, Edward Acquah, Amadu Akuse, Anas Seidu and Carl Lokko among others. 17 June 04