FEATURED: The Most Befitting Memorial In Honor Of The Late J. J. Rawlings...

14.02.2012 Africa Sports

Zimbabwe win toss and bat in final T20 against N.Z.

Zimbabwe cricket captain Brendan Taylor.  By John Cowpland (AFP/File)
LISTEN FEB 14, 2012
Zimbabwe cricket captain Brendan Taylor. By John Cowpland (AFP/File)

HAMILTON, New Zealand (AFP) - Zimbabwe captain Brendan Taylor won the toss and elected to bat first in the second and final Twenty20 international against New Zealand at Seddon Park on Tuesday.

The match is the final outing in a dismal tour for Zimbabwe, who have been so far outclassed in Test, one-day and T20 formats.

Taylor said the match was a chance for his side to finally register a win and take something positive from the tour.

"It's been hard but it can only make us better players," he said.

New Zealand have rested in-form batsman Martin Guptill and given Andrew Ellis his international T20 debut, while Tim Southee comes into the bowling attack for Doug Bracewell.


New Zealand: Rob Nicol, Brendon McCullum, Kane Williamson, Colin de Grandhomme, Andrew Ellis, James Franklin, Nathan McCullum, Kyle Mills, Roneel Hira, Michael Bates, Tim Southee, Doug Bracewel (12th man)

Zimbabwe: Hamish Masakadza, Stuart Matsikenyeri, Brendan Taylor (captain), Tatenda Taibu, Malcolm Waller, Elton Chigumbura, Shingi Masakadza, Keegan Meth, Prosper Utseya, Ray Price, Kyle Jarvis, Forster Mutizwa (12th man)

Umpires: Gary Baxter (NZL), Chris Gaffaney (NZL)

TV umpire: Barry Frost (NZL)

Match referee: David Boon (AUS)

Modern Ghana Links