Modern Ghana logo

FEATURED: [trailer] Anas To Drop Shocking Video On Children At Orphanage Eating ...

03.04.2007 Football News

Mauresmo edges out Stars to award

By gfa
Mauresmo edges out Stars to award

For the first time, Ghana earned a nomination at the Laureus Sports Awards but the senior men's team, the Black Stars could not pick their second award of the year after having won the Africa's 2006 National Team of the Year prize last month.

Monday evening's Laureus Sports Awards ceremony came off in Barcelona with Ghana been represented by FA general secretary, Kofi Nsiah and Black Stars coach, Claude Le Roy.

Ghana, having qualified for the 2006 FIFA World Cup finals, reached the round of 16 to earn the nomination for the Laureus World Breakthrough of the Year award.

However French tennis star, Amelie Mauresmo beat the Black Stars to the Laureus World Breakthrough of the Year award. The category also included Lewis Hamilton, Britta Steffen, Mia Xiaoxu and Palm Xavier Carter.

The Laureus Sports Awards recognise the achievements of those teams and individuals who symbolise the very best in sport.

The nominees were selected by a panel of journalists from 128 countries and the winners were chosen by the 43-strong Laureus Academy members.

The Awards Ceremony, held in the presence of His Majesty The King of Spain, was attended by global figures from sport, entertainment, business and fashion.

Among the members of the Laureus World Sports Academy present were: Giacomo Agostini, Marcus Allen, Franz Beckenbauer, Boris Becker, Sergey Bubka, Bobby Charlton, Sebastian Coe, Nadia Comaneci, Deng Yaping, Marcel Desailly, David Douillet, Morné du Plessis, Sean Fitzpatrick, Dawn Fraser, Tanni Grey-Thompson, Tony Hawk, Mike Horn, Miguel Indurain, Kip Keino, Franz Klammer, Edwin Moses, Nawal El Moutawakel, Robby Naish, Ilie Nastase, Hugo Porta, Monica Seles, Mark Spitz, Daley Thompson, Alberto Tomba, Steve Waugh and Katarina Witt.

Sportsman of the Year
Roger Federer, Switzerland, tennis

Sportswoman of the Year
Yelena Isinbayeva, Russia, pole vault

Team of the Year
Italy's men's soccer team

Comeback of the Year
Serena Williams, United Sates, tennis

Breakthrough of the Year
Amelie Mauresmo, France, tennis

Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability
Martin Braxenthaler, Germany, skiing

Action Sportsperson of the Year
Kelly Slater, United States, surfing

Special Awards:

Laureus Lifetime Achievement Award
Franz Beckenbauer, Germany

Laureus Spirit of Sport Award
FC Barcelona, Spain

Laureus Sport for Good Award
Duke Dowdney, Britain