2021 Afcon Qualifiers: Most Players Invited For Sudan Game Don't Merit Black Stars Call Up - Sam Johnson Fumes

By Samuel Ekow Amoasi Appiah
Football News Sam Johnson
OCT 31, 2020 LISTEN
Sam Johnson

Former Black Stars defender, Sam Johnson has expressed his displeasure claiming some players invited to the Black Stars do not merit their call up.

CK Akonnor, who is the head coach of the side on Friday, October 30 named his 23 man squad for the upcoming 2021 Africa Cup of Nations [Afcon] qualifiers against Sudan.

Th inclusion of Baba Rahman, Emmanuel Lomotey and Jamie Leweling has been questioned by many football fans in the country.

And according to Johnson, who is a Hearts of Oak legend, most of the players call up by CK Akonnor does not merit their call up.

"Most of the players called up by CK Akonnor doesn't merit it. Good performing players are entitled to call up to the national team so it surprises about many players called upon.

Politics shouldn't be entertained in our football at all. We cannot let someone hijack our national team and influence people to use their players in mind of helping to sell them," he added.

Coach Akonnor is seeking to continue with the teams flying start to the qualifiers following victories against South Africa and Sao Tome and Principe in November 2019.

The four-time Africa champions will play as guests to Sudan at the Cape Coast Stadium on Thursday, November 12, before making a trip to Khartoum for the return encounter five days later.

  • Below is the Black Stars squad for AFCON 2021 qualifiers against Sudan

Goalkeepers: Richard Ofori (Orlando Pirates FC), Razak Abalora (Asante Kotoko SC), Lawrence Ati-Zigi (St Gallen)

Defenders: Baba Abdul Rahman (Chelsea FC), Gideon Mensah (Vitoria de Guimaraes, Afful Harrison (Columbus Crew FC), Anang Benson (MSK Zilina), Djiku Alexander (Strasbourg FC), John Boye (FC Metz), Nicholas Opoku (Amiens FC), Joseph Aidoo (Celta Vigo)

Midfielders: Partey Thomas (Arsenal FC), Baba Idrissu (RCD Mallorca), Mubarak Wakaso (Jiangsu Suning FC), Emmanuel Lomotey (Amiens FC)

Forwards/Wingers: Andre Ayew (Swansea City FC), Tariq Fosu (Brentford), Samuel Owusu (Al-Ahli Jeddah) Jordan Ayew (Crystal Palace FC), Caleb Ekuban (Trabzonspor), Jamie Leweling (Greuther Furth), John Antwi (Pyramids FC), Jeffery Schlupp (Crystal Palace)

Samuel Ekow Amoasi Appiah
Samuel Ekow Amoasi Appiah

Sports Journalist

ModernGhana Links