modernghana logo

FEATURED STORY Too Much “greedy Corruption” In Ghana – Jon Benjamin...

body-container-line

Burkina Faso

A revolutionary figure who is still a hero to many in west Africa, Thomas Sankara was killed on October 15, 1987, during the coup that brought Blaise Compaore to power.  By  (AFP/File)

Fresh DNA tests on body of Burkina's 'Che' inconclusive

Tuesday, June 20, 2017

Ouagadougou (AFP) - A second set of tests on the suspected remains of Burkina Faso's iconic ex-president Thomas Sankara ...

Saturday, May 6, 2017

The governments of Ghana and Burkina Faso have pledged to work towards strengthening the ties of co-operation that exist ...

Friday, May 5, 2017

United Nations (United States) (AFP) - A former Burkina Faso president, Michel Kafando, has been appointed the new UN en ...

Wednesday, April 19, 2017

Ouagadougou (AFP) - Former Burkina Faso president Blaise Compaore goes on trial next week over the deadly crackdown agai ...

Thursday, April 6, 2017

Ouagadougou (AFP) - A military tribunal on Thursday jailed 15 Burkinabe soldiers for up to 17 years each over a failed r ...

Sunday, April 2, 2017

Ouagadougou (AFP) - Some 20 Burkinabe soldiers on trial at a military tribunal over a failed raid on an arms depot last ...

Tuesday, February 28, 2017

Ouagadougou (AFP) - A year after jihadist attacks killed 33 people, Burkina Faso's capital is kicking up its heels on th ...

Tuesday, February 28, 2017

Ouagadougou (AFP) - A night attack on two police positions in Burkina Faso was claimed by jihadists who killed 12 soldie ...

Sunday, February 26, 2017

Ouagadougou (AFP) - An African road movie about four women wowed its audience Sunday as it kicked off the Panafrican cin ...

Friday, February 24, 2017

Ouagadougou (AFP) - A solar-powered cinema was unveiled in Burkina Faso Friday ahead of Ouagadougou's hosting of Africa' ...

Thursday, February 23, 2017

Ouagadougou (AFP) - Burkina Faso is laying on tight security for Africa's top film festival which kicks off Saturday in ...

Tuesday, February 21, 2017

London (AFP) - Burkina Faso's Diebedo Francis Kere will be the first African architect to design a temporary pavilion in ...

Tuesday, January 31, 2017

Libreville (AFP) - With his giant frame and his instantly recognisable hairstyle, it is hard to miss Aristide Bance, the ...

Sunday, January 22, 2017

Libreville (AFP) - Burkina Faso and Cameroon secured progress to the quarter-finals of the Africa Cup of Nations on Sund ...

Tuesday, January 17, 2017

PARIS bull; Burkina Faso estimates its production of raw cotton for the 2016-17 harvest will rise by 25 percent comp ...

Friday, January 13, 2017

Ouagadougou (AFP) - The gunmen who carried out a deadly terror strike in Burkina Faso's capital nearly a year ago got a ...

Thursday, January 12, 2017

Abidjan, C ocirc;te d rsquo;Ivoire, January 12, 2017 ndash; With support from the African Development Bank (AfDB), B ...

Friday, January 6, 2017

Tripoli (AFP) - Escalating tensions between rival Libyan armed forces threaten to plunge the North African country deepe ...

Friday, January 6, 2017

Bouakà (Ivory Coast) (AFP) - Heavy weapons fire was heard Friday near Ivory Coast's largest military camp in the city o ...

Friday, December 23, 2016

On December 16, 2016, the Executive Board of the International Monetary Fund concluded the 2016 Article IV Consultat ...

Monday, December 19, 2016

The Secretary-General condemns today 39;s attack against a military post in Nassoumbou, province of Soum in the nor ...

Monday, December 19, 2016

On December 16, 2016, the Executive Board of the International Monetary Fund completed the sixth review of Burkina F ...

Sunday, December 18, 2016

Ouagadougou (AFP) - Mali's president said Sunday he could let Burkina Faso forces pursue jihadist fighters when they fle ...

Saturday, December 17, 2016

Ouagadougou (AFP) - At least 12 Burkina Faso soldiers were killed Friday in what local authorities said was the biggest ...

Friday, December 16, 2016

Ouagadougou (AFP) - Thrusting their arm into a box full of hungry mosquitoes, a group of brave volunteers in a Burkina F ...

Wednesday, December 14, 2016

On December 12, 2016 the Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Belarus, Valentin Rybakov, met with t ...

quot-img-1One does not know the value of water until the well gets dry.

By: Diplomatic Zee quot-img-1

body-container-line