Modern Ghana logo

FEATURED: Are Muslims Victims Or Promoters Of Terrorism?...

03.01.2008 Sports News

Ghana names injured Appiah in provisional squad

Ghana names injured Appiah in provisional squad

Ghana's coach, Claude Le Roy has named injured captain, Stephen Appiah in his 26 man provisional list for the 26th MTN African Cup of Nations.

Appiah has been ruled out of the competition and his call up supports the trainer's decision to keep the inspirational midfielder in the team from the build up through the biennial tourney.

The Fernabache icon has been forced out of the competition by complications of his knee surgery that took place weeks ago.

Also named in the squad is injured playmaker, Laryea Kingston.

The player, ruled out of action for almost two months earlier in the week, pledged his desire to defy his doctors and honour his nation on home soil.

Ghana begins camping in the commercial capital of the United Arab Emirate (UAE), Dubai on Thursday in a tour that will ensure the selection of the mandated 23 for the three-week fiesta.

Goalkeepers on the list are Richard Kingson (Birmingham City, England), Sammy Adjei (Ashdod, Israel), Fatau Dauda (Ashantigold, Ghana)

Le Roy named Ghana's defenders as John Paintsil (West Ham, England), Dan Opare (Ashantigold, Ghana), Nana Kwasi Asare (FC Mechelon, Belgium), John Mensah (Rennes, France), Alhassan Shilla Illiasu (FC Saturn, Russia), and Francis Dickoh (FC Utretcht, Holland)

Ghana's midfielders include Anthony Annan (I.K. Start, Norway), Eric Addo (PSV Eindhoven, Holland), Michael Essien (Chelsea, England), Bernard Kumodzi (Panionios FC, Greece), Laryea Kingston (Hearts, Scotland), Haminu Draman (Locomotiv Moscow, Russia), Moussa Narry (Etoile du Sahel, Tunisia), Stephen Appiah (Fenerbahce, Turkey), Sulley Muntari (Portsmouth, England), Andre Ayew (Olympique Marseille, France), and Ahmed Barruso (AS Roma, Italy)

Also on the list are the following strikers: Matthew Amoah (NAC Breda, Holland), Asamoah Gyan (Udinese, Italy), Baffuor Gyan (FC Saturn, Russia), Junior Agogo (Nottingham Forest, England), Quincy Owusu-Abeyie (Celta Vigo, Spain), and Kwadwo Asamoah (Liberty Professionals, Ghana).