FEATURED: Let's Embed Rawlings' Values In The National Psyche — Parliament...

01.11.2005 NPP News

More NPP constituencies elect officers

Listen to article

Kotokrom (B/A), Nov. 1, GNA - Mr. Kwame Twumasi Awuah, Sunyani Municipal Chief Executive (MCE) at the weekend urged members of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) to eschew petty bickering and focus on the party's vision for the country's development.

"The NPP government is determined to transform Ghana into a prosperous country in which citizens would feel good to do business and it is our responsibility as party members to gird up our loins and help realize this dream", he stated.

The MCE was speaking at a delegates' conference of the Sunyani East Constituency of the NPP at which a new nine-member executive was elected in a keenly contested vote supervised by officials of the Electoral Commission.

The new officers were Mr. Francis Kwaku Barnie, Chairman, Mr Alex Asante, first Vice Chairman, Madam Florence Lovely Adomah, second Vice Chairperson, Mr. Samuel Annan, Secretary.

The rest were Mr. Frank Musah Damtal, Assistant Secretary, Madam Faustina Nyarko, Women's Organiser, Mr. Richard Kyereme, Organiser, Alhaji Issaka Issah and Mr. Bartholomew Incoom, Youth Organiser. Mr. Twumasi-Awuah commended the delegates for their maturity that ensured the peaceful election and charged them to forget about the results and support the new executive to work to meet their aspirations. Mr. Barnie appealed to members to rally behind the executive to work hard enough to win more members and to ensure a convincing victory for the Party in 2008.

A similar delegates' conference at Sampa elected a nine-member executive to steer the affairs of the Party in Jaman North constituency. They were Mr. Martin Kwame Fei Opoku, Chairman, D.E. Takyi, first Vice Chairman, Karim Dauda, second Vice Chairman, Ebenezer Anane, Secretary, Osei Kufuor, Treasurer, Samuel Obeng, Assistant Secretary, Nana Tufuor, Organiser, Stephen Koosono, Youth Organizer and Grace Takyiwaa, Women's Organiser.

Mr. Opoku pledged that the executive would operate within the Party's constitution and in a transparent fashion and urged members to support the executive to ensure the victory of the NPP in 2008. Mr. Kofi Darko, NPP Regional Organiser, urged members of the Party to be wary of lies being perpetrated about the government and concentrate on telling Ghanaians about the Party's mission and vision. He urged the executive to ensure cohesion amongst them and to sink any differences in order to advance the ideals of the party in the constituency.

The Jaman North district administration debunked rumours circulating in the area that funds provided by the Ministry of Food and Agriculture for a grasscutter rearing project had been shared amongst the Assembly Members.

A total of 112 delegates in Jaman South constituency cast their votes to elect a nine-member executive for the party in a keenly-contested election at Drobo.

Mr. Sampson Kwaku Adade retained his position as Chairman, whilst Mr. Samuel Korang Gyan became the new first Vice Chairman. Mr. Moses Kyereh Nyansaye took the position of second Vice Chairman, Alhaji Abu, Secretary, Mr. David Gariba, Assistant Secretary and Alhaji Amadu Apraku, Treasurer.

The others were Mr Tachie Djan, who retained his portfolio as Organiser, Mrs. Georgina Adubea, Women's Organiser and Mr. Yaw Djan, Youth Organiser.

Mr. Apraku Tanor, District Chief Executive, appealed to party faithful to eschew in-fighting and negative attitudes and advised members to support the DCEs and MP for the area. 01 Nov. 05

Modern Ghana Links