FEATURED: Why Yaoh Hates Your Marriage So Much!!...

13.07.2005 Football News

LOC for CAN 2008 names Sub Committee

Listen to article

Accra, July 13, GNA - The Local Organising Committee (LOC) for the 2008 African Cup of Nations on Thursday named seven Sub Committees tasked to help organise a successful championship. The Committees, which are expected to start work soon, have Alhaji MND Jawula, former Chairman of the Ghana Football Association chairing the Committee on Venue Development which would be responsible for the managing and preparation of the five selected venues for the tournament namely - Accra, Kumasi, Cape Coast, Tamale and Sekondi -Takoradi.

The committee's mandate, which also includes acquisition of sites and liasing with the LOC Secretariat to meet CAF inspection team's deadline has Alhaji Mashud Ibn Musah, Mr Kudjo Fianoo, Prince Oduro Mensah, Alhaji Baba Saanid, Kwabina Sarpong, Mr Charles Ayeh, Acting Chief Executive National Sports Council, Dr Joseph Ofori Amoah and David Tetteh as members.

The Committee on Public Relations, Media and Accreditation has Mrs Esther Ofori of the Trade Fair Authority as the Chairman, with other members being Dr Toni Aubynn, Emmanuel Amoako, Ebo Quansah, Mr Nii Laryea Sowah, A representative from National Security, Alhaji Abdul Wahab Alhassan and Allen Agbenatoe. Mr Magnus Rex Danquah will be in charge of the Marketing, Advertising and Sponsorship. Other members of the Committee are Mr Yaw Agyman-Duah, Mr Ibrahim Awal, Mr Isaac K Hammond, Mr Charles Boakye-Nimako, Mrs Dorren Allotey, Mr George Allotey and Mr George E Gyamfi.

Other members of the Committee are Mrs Shola Safo-Duodu, Mr Kofi Nsiah, General Secretary Ghana Football Association, Paa Kwasi Yankey and Mr Edwin Owusu Mensah.

For the Hospitality and Accommodation Committee, Mr Peter Osei Duah, Managing Director State Insurance Corporation is the chairman. Other members are Joe Baidoe Ansah, Mr Edusei Derkyi, Mr Ferdinand Ayim, Mr K T Dadzie, Mr Patrick Okrah, Mrs Rosemary Pabi, Mr Kwame Ofori Gyau, Martin Mireku, Joe Osei Owusu and Mr Kwabena Amoakuhene. The Team 2008 Facilitation Committee is headed by Mr Kwasi Nyantakyi, acting chairman of the GFA. Dr Emmanuel Owusu Ansah, Mr Fred Pappoe, Mr Tony Yeboah, Coach Sam Ardey, Mr Kwabina Yeboah, Mr Yaw Ansah Sam, Mr Osei Frimpong and Mr Ben Koufie are the other members.

Mr Van Lare Dosoo, Deputy Governor Back of Ghana has been given charge of the Finance and Ticketing Committee which has other members as Mr Ebenezer Essoka, Mr Abrah Appiah, Mr Ato Essuman, Mr Charles Ayeh, Acting Chief Executive National Sports Council, Mr Paul Asimedu, Mr JY Appiah,Mr Tony Mends and Emmanuel Fianko. The final Committee, which will be in charge of Security and Immigration, will have Mrs Elizabeth Adjei, Head of Immigration Service as the chairperson. She will be assisted ACP Kofi Boakye, Dr Sam Smuah, Major Awudu Somuah, ACP Victor Tandoh and Representatives from National Security, Ghana Fire Service, Customs Excise and Preventive Service, Ministry of Interior and Head of Airport VVIP Security.