ModernGhana logo
06.03.2005 Education

Students honoured for their performance in BECE

Listen to article

Accra, March 6, GNA - Twenty students, who excelled in the 2004 Basic Education Certificate Examination (BECE), were on Saturday presented with the President's Independence Day Award in Accra.

It formed part of activities marking Ghana's 48th Independence Day celebrations, which is under the theme "Sustaining Democracy in Ghana-The Bedrock for Peace and National Unity".

The award package included a certificate jointly signed by the President and Minister of Education and Sports, a three-year scholarship award valued up to seven million cedis for each award winner to cover boarding and lodging tenable in any Senior Secondary School (SSS) in the country.

Additionally, each award winner would receive One million cedis in cash, 200,000 cedis for books and a special book prize. Three of them would be selected to attend a summer camp - "Camp Rising Sun" in the United States of America and Denmark.

President John Agyekum Kufuor presented the awards to the recipients at the ceremony held at the forecourt of the State House.

They were, Miss Thelma Zulfawu Abu and Master Alan Anzagra from the Upper West Region; Miss Cornelia Aganazure Ayambire and Master Isaiah Apusiak Nasarah from the Upper East Region; Miss Rashida Abdul-Ganyu and Master Sebastian Arimyaw Nasamu from the Northern Region.

The others were Miss Josephine Al-Hassan and Master Emmanuel Nsafoah from the Brong Ahafo Region; Miss Rose Adjei-Bempah and Master Bright Samuel Amankwah Boadi from the Ashanti Region; Miss Ruth Ekua Deteah and Master George Apasu from the Western Region; Miss Emelia Otoo and Master Dennis Danso Kuni from the Central Region.

The rest were, Miss Regina Esinam Abotsi and Master Mawuko Luke Yaw Ankah from the Volta Region; Miss Celestina Osei-Boateng and Master Kenneth Amoah from the Eastern Region and Miss Agnes Joslyn Komey and Master Alex Kwaku Addo from the Greater Accra Region.

Vice President Alhaji Aliu Mahama presented awards to the winners of the National Schools Debate for Senior Secondary Schools (SSS).

Sunyani Secondary School (SUSEC) emerged winners of the debate. The winners, representing the Northern Zone, polled 388 points out of the 600 scored mark to beat their opponents from the St. Roses Secondary School at Akwatia representing the Southern Zone who had 373.6 points. The winners were presented with a computer, a printer and accessories and a cash prize of three million cedis, while the runner-up was also presented with a computer, printer, its accessories and a cash prize of one million cedis. Contestants debated on the topic, "That the practice of democracy creates national awareness, peace and unity." The competition, which was mainly between second cycle institutions, starting from the inter school level through to the district, zonal and finally to the national level, brought out talents of the students on various topics of national interests. Maame Abokuma Baffoe and Maame Tiwaa Osei-Nkansah both of the St Roses Secondary School spoke for the motion, while Sylvester Ackah and Eugene Asenso both of SUSEC were against the motion.