Doe Adjaho confirmed as Speaker of Parliament, Kumbour is majority leader

By RadioXYZ

The leadership of the National Democratic Congress has confirmed to Radio XYZ that Edward Doe Adjaho has been confirmed as the next Speaker of the Sixth Parliament of the Fourth Republic, which commences on January 7, 2013.

He replaces Justice Joyce Bamford Addo who has been the Speaker of Parliament since January 2009.

Hon. Doe Adjaho who is also the MP-elect for Ave-Avenor in the Volta region would be assisted by the Foreign Affairs Minister Alhaji Mohammed Mumuni who has been selected as the First Deputy Speaker.

Hon. Adjaho will therefore have to vacate his seat in accordance with Article 97 (1) b which stipulates that “a Member shall vacate his seat in Parliament if he is officially sworn in as the Speaker of Parliament.

Hon. Alhassan Azong of the PNC and a Minister of State in charge of Public Sector Reforms has been selected as the Second Speaker of Parliament.

The decision to give the second Speaker of Parliament to the PNC member is likely to irk members of the largest opposition, the New Patriotic Party after indications were that Hon. Joe Ghartey, former Attorney General was being positioned to replace Hon. Mike Ocquaye as the second Speaker of Parliament.

Hon. Adjaho rose through the ranks in Parliament, becoming a Minority Chief Whip, Deputy Minority Leader, one time member of the Pan-African Parliament before attaining his current position as the First Deputy Speaker of Parliament.

Hon. Benjamin Kumbuor has also been selected as the majority leader replacing Cletus Avoka. Hon. Alfred Agbesi MP elect for Ashaiman constituency is the deputy majority leader.

Former Sports Minister Muntaka Mubarak is also the new Majority Chief Whip.

More Politics ...

This article has 1 comments, leave your comment.
Do you have an article for publication? Please email it to [email protected].

Any society the game politic is played within,is at risk before God.
By: Kyei-Afrifa Mannhei