FEATURED: Why Are Black People Obsessed With The Bible That Was Used To Enslave ...

23.02.2009 Politics

New government appointments made for district


Seven new government appointees of the Agona East District Assembly, have been sworn into office for a two-year term.

Mr Kofi Sunu, Agona Swedru Magistrate Court Judge administered the oath of office to them.

The assembly later elected Mr Darling McKenzie Armah and Ms Mary Otwe, assembly members for Agona Nsaba and Mankrong-Junction electoral areas respectively, to represent the assembly at an electoral college to elect a representative to the Council of State on Tuesday Feb, 24 in Cape Coat.

Before the assembly began sitting, it unanimously elected Mr Richard Zigah, assemblyman for Ninta electoral area to preside over the emergency meeting because Nana Kwao Ponsie, former presiding member whose two years term of office had expired.

Mr Dennis Armah-Frempong, immediate past District Chief Executive for Agona East, charged new members of the assembly to discharge their duties effectively to ensure total development of the area.

He expressed the hope that the new members would cooperate with the staff and old assembly members, and also endeavour to study the standing orders of the assembly, so as to become abreast with the concept.

Mr A. A. Addison, District Coordinating Director said the assembly in collaboration with the chiefs, had set aside a day to organize clean-up exercise, to ensure environmental cleanliness in the district.