Modern Ghana logo

FEATURED: Can We Blame Religion For Africa’s Economic Woes?...

27.06.2005 Sports News

Afful topples Ghana's number one cyclist


Accra, June 27, GNA - William Afful, 27, of Fire Bunch Cycling club in Nungua on Sunday, became the new wonder kid in the sport when he pulled the biggest surprise on the day to topple the nation's number, Joseph Annang, in the monthly 75km Criterion cycling race held at Korle Gonno in Accra.

Afful, runner up in the maiden innovative event meant to revitalize the sport and to make the regional cyclists, who form the core of the national team battle-ready; produced a last-minute sprint to win the race in 2:8:10sec, a second faster than Annang, winner of the maiden event. Closely on their heels was Emmanuel Taylor of the Gutten club (Osu) with a time of 2:8:12sec. Sensational Ayitey Akoto of Citi Migro won the best Fighter award while Emmanuel Obuor was again adjudged the Promising Star.

Mr Shaban Mohammed, Chief Executive Officer of ASONE Sports Promotions, sponsors of the event, presented prizes to the winners. The next edition of the monthly event, organised by the Greater Accra Cycling Association has been fixed for Saturday, July 16, at a venue yet to be decided. In all, 43 cyclists from the seven clubs of the Greater Accra Region participated in the competition.

Mr Mohammed told the GNA Sports in Accra that Wonder Food Company Limited, producers of Cowbell, Pens and Plastic (BIC) and Papaye Fast Food would sponsor the subsequent events.

A similar exercise was also held in Tamale dubbed "Youth Talent Hunt Cycling Race" won by Abdul-Wahab Zakaria. Mohammed Yehuza and Moctar Mohamed were the runners up in the 30km race, which was competed by 20 cyclists.

A. M. Baba, Tamale Metropolitan Co-ordinator presented a cheque for one million cedis to the youth association. Meanwhile, the national cycling team is scheduled to participate in the 19th edition of the popular La rout d'Lest to be staged in Cote D'Ivoire from July 21-31. Participating countries include Togo, Benin, Burkina Faso, Niger, Mali and Nigeria.