ModernGhana logo
26.11.2005 NDC News

Annan elected G/A NDC Chairman

Listen to article

Accra, Nov. 26, GNA - Mr Danny A. Annan, former National Democratic Congress (NDC) Constituency Chairman of the Ledzokuku constituency was on Saturday elected as the new regional chairman for the Greater Accra Region.

He polled 77 votes to beat his main challenger Flight Lieutenant Militade Tackey, who got 68 votes, while Mr Eddie Palmer, the former Greater Accra Regional chairman of the party got three votes. The post of First Vice Chairman went to Alhaji Ismail Bawa, while Mr Kakraba Vanlare was declared unopposed for the position of the Second Vice Chairman.

Mr Nii Djanmah Vaderpuje went unopposed for the position of the Greater Accra Regional Secretary and Mr Theophilus Tetteh Chaie was elected as the new Deputy Regional Secretary.

The other elected new executives included Alhaji Yahaya Kumdoin who also went unopposed for the position of Treasurer, while Ms Rejoice Ahiable was elected Deputy Regional Treasurer.

The rest were, Mr Jerry Acquaye Thompson, Regional Organiser; Theophilus Addo Mills, Deputy Regional Organiser; Alhaji Mohammed Jarakotoku, Regional Propaganda Secretary and Alhaji Imam Mohammed, Deputy Regional Propaganda Secretary.

The new Greater Accra regional executives who were also sworn into office would be in charge of the party's programmes and activities for the next four years.

Mr Annan is his acceptance speech thanked the delegates for the confidence reposed in him and assured members that the new executives would work hard to reclaim all the parliamentary seats the NDC lost to the NPP come 2008.

He also urged the rank and file of the party to close their ranks, put their petty squabbles aside and work for the common good of the party.

Mr Haruna Iddrisu, Member of Parliament for Tamale South and National Youth Organiser of the NDC accused the NPP of trying to pass the People's Amendment Bill to allow Ghanaians outside the country to vote because they had lost touch with the people and knew that they would loose the next election.

He also accused the government of misapplying the monies meant for the National Health Insurance Scheme by using part of it to hire consultants, which has never brought any positive result to the contributors.

Other NDC stalwart at the congress included Mr Nii Okaidja Adamafio, former Minister of the Interior, Dr Farouk Braimah, former MP for Ayawaso East and Mr Jonathan Tacky Commie, MP for Odododiodoio. 26 Nov. 05