ModernGhana logo
25.10.2005 NDC News

Binduri NDC retains 10 unopposed

Listen to article

Binduri (U/E), Oct. 25, GNA - The Binduri Constituency National Democratic Congress (NDC) at its delegates' congress held at Binduri on Tuesday, retained unopposed 10 of its 14 executive members, including its Chairman, Alhaji Osman Kassim and Vice-Chairman, Mr Musah Seidu to steer affairs for the next four years.

Other members who were re-elected unopposed included Mr Moses Nti, Organiser; Mr Mbum Amoli, Deputy Secretary; Mr Thomas Akugre, Deputy Treasurer and Mr James Asidiwaya, Deputy Organising Secretary. The rest were Mr James Ayamba, Deputy Propaganda Secretary; Abdul-Majeed Ayendago, Deputy Youth Organiser and Madam Lamisi Mbugri, Deputy Women's Organiser.

Mr Musah Gambo, the incumbent Treasurer, defeated his challenger Mr Francis Apam, the former Deputy Secretary, by 105 votes to 41 to retain his position; while Mr Alex Awenlinga was elected the new Propaganda Secretary, after beating Mr Daniel Aruk, by 90 votes to 56.

Mr Abdul-Rahman Ali polled 25 votes to defeat the incumbent Lawrence Akubilla, who had 19 votes and Joseph Abugre, who also had 20 votes, to become the Youth Organiser, while Madam Elizabeth Apibil also defeated Theresa Abindaw, by 110 votes to 36 to become the new Women's Organiser.

Mr Mark-Anthony Awuni, Member of Parliament for the area, who witnessed the ceremony, congratulated the new officers and advised those who lost not to take their defeat as a rejection by the Party but rather join hands with the victors to fight for victory for the Party in Election 2008.

He said with capable stewardship and support from all members, the Party was poised to repeat it electoral victory over the New Patriotic Party (NPP) in the Constituency, adding that the seat would be for the NDC forever.

In his acceptance speech, Alhaji Kassim thanked the delegates for the confidence reposed in the executives for retaining most of them and pledged that they would work harder to ensure that the Party strengthened its structures to consolidate its victory in the area. In a related development, all the 11-member executive of the Bawku Central Constituency, were retained for another four-year term at a congress held at Bawku at the weekend.

The members were Alhaji Issifu Assana, Chairman; Alhaji Ahmed Gumah, Vice-Chairman; Mr David Belko Moli, Secretary; and Mr Samuel Abendoah, Deputy Secretary.

The others were Mr Collins Azure, Organiser; Mr Wahabu Abugre, Deputy Organiser; Alhaji Issah Mumuni, Treasurer and Alhaji Mashoud Aziz, Deputy Treasurer.

The rest included Mr Mahama Ayamba, Propaganda Secretary; Mr Haruna Amadu, Youth Organiser and Madam Lawrencia Azure, Women's Organiser. The MP for the area, Mr Mahama Ayariga called for unity among party members and asked them to be dedicated to the Party's cause to ensure that the seat would not slip back to the NPP.