ModernGhana logo
29.07.2004 NPP News

MP for Ayensuono wins NPP primaries

Listen to article

Coaltar (E/R), July 29, GNA - The Member of Parliament for Ayensuono, Mr Godfried Okyere has won the New Patriotic Party (NPP) primaries to contest 2004 parliamentary election for the constituency. He polled 80 votes to defeat Mr Samuel Ayeh Payne who polled 11 votes, Mr Charles Seth Cantey, 4 votes and Rev. Patrick Addo Lartey, 3 votes.

The Eastern Regional NPP Youth Organiser, Mr Richard Amofa said, people who were claiming that the government of President J.A. Kufuor had not done anything since it came to power "are people who are refusing to see what is happening around them."

He called on party members to educate the electorate in the constituency on development projects that the government had brought there within the three-and-half years that it had been in power. Mr Amofa thanked the delegates to the primaries for their comportment and urged the youth of the party to work hard to support the candidate.

The Suhum-Kraboa-Coaltar District Chief Executive, Mr Michael Kofi Mensah, stated that the party did not have much problem with its opponents but rather with the members of the party. Mr Okyere thanked the delegates for electing him and assured them of his readiness to do his best to retain the seat for the party.

ModernGhana Links

Join our Newsletter