Modern Ghana logo

FEATURED: [trailer] Anas To Drop Shocking Video On Children At Orphanage Eating ...

14.12.2007 CPP News

Some 2,500 delegates to attend CPP crucial congress

By Accra Mail

Some 2,500 delegates will attend the Convention People's Party (CPP) third special national delegates' congress, slated for December 15 in Kumasi, to elect a presidential
candidate and national executives.

Delegates are expected to elect a flag bearer for Elections 2008 and national executive officers to the position of Chairman, three Vice-Chairmen, General Secretary, Treasurer, Organizer, Women Organizer and Youth Organizer.

There will be nine delegates from each of the 230 constituencies, as well as representatives from the Central Committee, Council of Elders, Founding Members and branches abroad.

The CPP, with its motto “Forward Ever, Backward Never,” would be the third to be electing a flag bearer after the National Democratic Congress' election of former Vice President John Evans Atta Mills and the People's National Convention, which elected Dr Edward Mahama on November 30, this year.

Dr Edmund Nminyem Delle, a Dermatologist and National Chairman of the CPP told the Ghana News Agency in an interview that all was set for the Congress. “We are ready to elect our leaders in a peaceful comradeship environment.”

Dr Delle, who is seeking re-election said the time had come for the Party to give a further meaning to Osagyefo's vision, stressing that women and the youth, who constituted the majority had not been treated fairly after the overthrow of the First Republic.

He urged the contestants, their supporters and other CPP members to exercise the greatest restraint during and after the elections. “I expect us to come back from Congress united than we went in, as we have a bigger battle ahead of us that calls for unity.”

He urged the delegates, contestants and the teeming supporters to be guided by the supreme interest of the CPP and vote for candidates with merits, skills and commitment to lead the Party.

The Congress is also expected to amend the CPP Constitutions, adopt strategies for the next general election, discuss the national economy and as well as other national and international issues.

Those aspiring for the presidential slot are Professor Agyemang Badu Akosa, former Director-General of Ghana Health Service, Dr Kwaku Osafo, an Economist, Dr Paa Kwesi Nduom, former Minister of Public Sector Reforms, Mr Bright Akwetey, a Lawyer, Dr F. W. A. Akuffo, a Medical Practitioner and Mr George Aggudey, Chief Executive of Gold Crest Securities.

Besides incumbent Dr Delle, the others who are contesting the position of National Chairman are Mr Ladi Nylander, a leading member and Mr Iddrisu Egala, Chartered Accountant.

Seven Officers are vying for the three slots for the National Vice Chairperson. They are Mr Eric Benyarko, Professor Nii Noi Dowuona, Ms Araba Bentsi Enchil, Mr Oteng Anane, Dr Abu Sakara, Mr Chris Yao Zigah and Mr Kojo Armah.Those vying for General Secretary position are Mr Michael Kosi Dedey, Mr Michael Nunoo, Mr Ivor Kobina Greenstreet, Mr Serchen Komba and Mr Ekow Duncan.

Those who have filed for the position of National Treasurer were Dr Adolf Lutterodt, Naa Kordai Asimeh, Mr Mike Eghan and Nii Otu Okunnor. Majia Hamdattu Haruna and Ms Rose Anim are contesting for the position of National Women's Organiser while Mr James Kwabena Bomfeh, Mr Francis Opai Tetteh and Mr Kofi Baidoo are
contesting for National Youth Organiser.

The contestants for the position of National Organizer are Ms Evelyn Anabila, Mr Amankwaa Appiah and Mr Henry Nii Abossey Thomspon.

According to the CPP constitution, the Central Committee would appoint deputies for other offices apart from the National Chairman, after the congress.

During the second National Delegates Congress in 2003, Mr Aggudey, got 1,216 votes out of a total of 1,800 delegates. He beat Alhaji Ibrahim Mahama, a Veteran Politician and a Tamale-based Legal Practitioner, who got 461 votes.

Dr Delle, polled 1,008 votes to win the slot for National Chairman, beating Mr Iddi Egala, who ran a very active campaign, to the second place with 394 votes, while Mr Felix Amoah, an Electrical Engineer came third with 272 votes.

Mrs Araaba Bentsi-Enchil Svenson, a Political Scientist, and the only female contestant at the level of national executive, won a surprised victory over seasoned politicians to become the First National Vice-Chairman with 635 votes.

Mr Mike Eghan, a Veteran Broadcaster, was elected the Second National Vice-Chairman with 396 votes whilst Mr Johnny Hanson another Veteran Politician, became the Third Vice-Chairman with 240 votes.

Professor Nii Noi Dowuona also retained his position as General Secretary with a wide margin of 1,156 to beat two contestants - Mr Kwasi Baidoo, 445 votes and Mr Ganiyi Akanni Balogun, 85 votes.

Mr Martin Donkor retained his position as National Treasurer by beating Mr Ekow Duncan, Management Consultant, with 1,219 votes against 465.