FEATURED: Ghana Back To Hipc Not True – Oppong Nkrumah...

19.05.2011 Gospel News

Ghana clinches over 25 nominations at Africa Gospel Music Awards

By myjoyonline
Listen to article

Several Ghanaian music artistes both local and international have been recieved nominations at the second edition of the Africa Gospel Music Awards (AGMA) scheduled to take place on July 9 at the Lighthouse Hall, London.

The artistes, including Sonnie Badu, Cecilia Marfo, No Tribe, Nii Okai and others had over 25 nominations in different categories of the awards.

According to organisers, the AGMA now in its second year “is aimed at celebrating and awarding excellence in the gospel music industry of people of Africa and Africans in the Diaspora,” adding that, “it is also to celebrate the work of the sector; to showcase the talent, innovation and success of our gospel artistes.”

In all, there are 20 awards, covering the whole range of musical activities which comprises singing, promotion, media and projects.

Ghanaian gospel music group, No Tribe, leads the pack with four nominations; Best Song, Best Gospel Album, Best Group and Best Artiste (West Africa).

Closely following No Tribe is Ghanaian and UK based gospel artiste, Sonnie Badu who had three nominations in the Best Song, Best Male Artiste and Best Artiste (Europe).

Other nominees, Ohemaa Mercy and Cecelia Marfo both clinched two nominations each in the Overall Best Female Artiste and Best Artiste (West Africa).

Adom Praize organized by Adom 106.3 FM also had a nomination for Best Contribution to African Gospel Music.

Some of the continent and Diaspora finest artiste including UK-based Sonnie Badu, Nigerian based gospel rock star, EBEN, South African based, Uche Agu, Kenny K'ore and RoofTop MC's will perform at the awards night.

They will be supported by some of UK's finest artistes including MOBO award winner Victizzle, Mahali Selepe, Diana Hamilton, Aaron T Aaron, Rebecca and more.

Detailed list of nominationees and categories:

Best Song
Halleluya - Lara George Ft Pat King
Alitenda – Lisa Murayah
Saluti – Daddy Owen
Somore - Kenny K'ore
Covenant - Rebecca Ft Uche
My Love – Tolumide
Geo Gabriel - Victory
Agidigba - Tim Godfrey
Bohye - No Tribe
Adonai - Sonnie Badu
Best Music Video
Kwasa - Gboof
Mercy - Kwesi Oteng
Charles Granville - By My Side
Rebecca Arthur - I Need You More
Agidigba Video - Tim Godfrey and The X'treme
Saluti – Daddy Owen
The Presence – Joe Praize

Best Gospel Album
Bohye - No Tribe (Ghana)
Timeless One - Alexander Victor (UK)
System Ya Kapungala - Daddy Owen (Kenya)
Rebecca Malope – Ukuthula (South Africa)
Hymnz Unlimited - Nii Okai (Ghana)
Awesome God - Aaron T. Aaron (UK)
Pulpit Kwa Street - Juliani (Kenya)
Racing Up – Paul Mwai – (Kenya)
Worship in His Presence with Benjamin Dube – (South Africa)

Event of the Year
Evolution 6 by Impact Project Ministries (Ghana)
Africa Worships with Sonnie Badu (UK)
Harvest Praise 2011 with Rev Benjamin Dube (Ghana)
The Big Church Day Out (UK)
Groove Awards (Kenya)
True Worshippers "A Night in His Presence" (USA)
Lagos Experience (Nigeria)
Overall Best Male Artiste
Daddy Owen (Kenya)
Sonnie Badu (UK)
Benjamin Dube (South Africa)
Joe Praize (Nigeria)
Uche Agu (South Africa)
Charles Granville (Nigeria)
Eben (Nigeria)
Fabrice Nzeyimana (Burundi)
Aaron T. Aaron (UK)
Kabelo Eric (Botswana)

Overall Best Female Artiste
Winnie Mashaba (South Africa)
Diana Hamilton (UK)
Ohemaa Mercy (Ghana)
Lara George (Nigeria)
Sinach (Nigeria)
Emmy Kosgei (Kenya)
Rebecca (UK)
Toyin Motara (Nigeria)
Cecilia Marfo (Ghana)

Best Gospel Group
Obert Mazivisa & Trumpet Echoes (UK)
Royal Priesthood (Ghana)
Tribe of Judah Choir (USA)
No Tribe (Ghana)
Tim Godfrey And Xtreme (Nigeria)
Allen and Da New Wave (UK)
Joyous Celebration (South Africa)
Davison Band (UK)
K-Stonez (Nigeria)

Best Gospel TV Programme
Afrika Rising - Ohtv (UK)
Praisetek Gospel Show
The Glory Encore Show Olive TV – (UK)
Praise Talk Show - Faith TV (UK)
One Voice – NTV
One Gospel – South Africa
X 2 D - Nigeria
Shine On – Channel O - Dstv
Best Gospel Radio Programme
Habari Africa. Premier Gospel Radio (UK)
P G Breakfast Premier Gospel Radio (UK)
Gospel Sunday – Milele FM (Kenya)
Praize Jams - Kool FM (Nigeria)

Best Gospel DJ/Presenter
Muyiwa Olarewaju - Premier Christian/Gospel Radio (UK)
Dj Abbey Gee - Freelance DJ (UK)
Dj Gosporella - (Nigeria)
Fiifi Folson - Sunny FM (Ghana)
Best Contribution to Africa Gospel Music
Rebecca Malope (South Africa)
Evangelist David Bruno - Ppm Birmingham (UK)
Praisetek Gospel Music Awards (Pgma)
Bng Innovates (Nigeria)
Lindlani Mkhezi of Joyous Celebration (South Africa)
Watoto Children's Choir (Uganda)
Premier Gospel Radio (UK)
Adom Praize - Adom FM (Ghana)
Discovery of the Year
Geo Gabriel
Tolumide (USA)
Gboof (Kwasa) (Nigeria)
Royal Priesthood (Ghana)
Cwasi Oteng (Ghana)
Atta Boafo's (UK)
Motara (Nigeria)
Outcry (Kingdom Of Swaziland)
Emmanuella Bafoah-Moloney (UK)

Regional Awards Category

Best Artiste(s) (Europe)
Sonnie Badu
Master Don
Papa Richie
Lisa Muraya
Rev Osei Kofi
Rebecca Arthur
Diana Hamilton
Gwendolynn Mukulu Chris
Aaron T Aaron

Best Artiste(s) (USA)
Dee Jones (Elevated)
Kenneth Appiah
Comfort Manyame
The Tribe of Judah Choir
Albert Collingwoode Williams

Best Artiste (Southern Africa)
Benjamin Dube
Uche Agu
Keke Phopholo
Sfiso Ncwane
Solly Mahlangu
Sipho Makhabane
Winnie Mashaba

Best Artiste (East Africa)
Fabrice Nzeyimana
Alice Kamande
Christina Shusho
Blessed Sisters Rwanda
Gen. Manasseh Mathiang
Joy Nkundiman
Emmy Kosgei
Moses "Qqu" Odhiambo
Daddy Owen

Best Artiste (West Africa)
No Tribe
Joe Praize
Charles Granville
Tim Godfrey
Lara George
Geo Gabriel
Ibitayo Jeje
Ohemaa Mercy
Iyobo Van Lierop
Cecelia Marfo

There were nominations for Best Artiste (North Africa) and (Central Africa).

Voting for the various categories begins, Friday, May 20 and will end June 24 worldwide at

Story by Ernest Dela Aglanu/

Powered By Modern Ghana