modernghana logo

FEATURED STORY Photo Story Of The Life Of Ebony Reigns...

body-container-line

Kwame Opoku, Dr.: 217 Publications

Throne of Oba Eresoyen, Benin, Nigeria, now in Ethnologisches Museum, Berlin, Germany.

Queen-Mother Idia and Others Must Return Home: Training Courses are no Substitutes for Looted Treasures

Wednesday, March 16, 2011

At the height of the protest organized by the Nigeria Liberty Forum against a proposed auction of a Queen-Mother Idia hi ...

Saturday, February 5, 2011

I read with interest and sometimes, with astonishment the article by Professor John Picton, Emeritus Professor, School o ...

Friday, January 28, 2011

On the other hand, even after giving away the colourful bust of Nefertiti, the Berlin Museum would still be far superio ...

Thursday, January 27, 2011

According to information in the Austrian papers Standard, Kurier, and Kronen Zeitung, Austria seems finally willing to r ...

Sunday, January 16, 2011

For many of us, the name Ekpo Eyo has come to stand for excellence and erudition. The first Director-General of the Nig ...

Wednesday, January 5, 2011

Gold gleams throughout the Ashanti story: one wonders in retrospect whether the punitive expedition would have ...

Sunday, January 2, 2011

The cancellation notice of the auction of Queen-Mother Idia mask on 4 December by Sotheby's could not have been shorter: ...

Friday, December 24, 2010

Various media, including the Art Newspaper www.theartnewspaper.com , and the Financial Times http://www.ft.com/cm ...

Wednesday, November 3, 2010

We read with great interest an article by Tom L. Freudenheim, a former art museum director and former assistant secretar ...

Sunday, August 15, 2010

This is a question that may surprise many and indeed many may consider it wiser to leave unanswered rather than hazard u ...

Sunday, May 16, 2010

We reproduce below an ICOM Press Release on an agreement signed on 10 May 2010 between Tanzania and the Geneva Museum Ba ...

Sunday, May 16, 2010

The problem of the repatriation of cultural heritage to its country of origin is an old one, based on a 19th century do ...

Sunday, May 16, 2010

You must understand what the Parthenon Marbles mean to us. They are our pride. They are our sacrifices. They are the su ...

Sunday, April 18, 2010

A glorious display of Ife sculpture has arrived at the British Museum. Nobody and I mean nobody in Britain shoul ...

Sunday, March 14, 2010

''There is a moral imperative for museums around the world to return certain artefacts to the countries they came from, ...

Friday, February 26, 2010

If museums were capable of helping to devise and communicate a universal perspective on cultural values which a ...

Sunday, February 7, 2010

What few people realise is that MacGregor's activities on behalf of the British Museum, although dressed up as ...

Saturday, January 30, 2010

According to a report in the Nigerian Compass reproduced below, the French Government has returned to the Nigerian Gover ...

Tuesday, January 5, 2010

The time has come when the British Museum should recognise the change in relative status between Britain and the rest o ...

Saturday, December 19, 2009

Generally speaking, it is clear that cultural property is most important to the people who created it or for w ...

Tuesday, December 8, 2009

JASON KOUTSOUKIS HERALD CORRESPONDENT December 7, 2009 CAIRO: Egypt will host an international conference next ...

Monday, November 16, 2009

The history of the bust of Nefertiti shows very clearly how hollow it can sound when Germans and other Europeans re ...

Friday, October 23, 2009

Two robbers breaking into a museum, devastating, looting and burning, leaving laughing hand-in-hand with their bags ful ...

Tuesday, October 20, 2009

We may not all agree with Zahi Hawass in many aspects of restitution but we cannot deny that the energetic Egyptian cult ...

Friday, October 16, 2009

In an article entitled Egypt asks British Museum for the Rosetta Stone after Louvre victory, the British Daily Telegraph ...

Tuesday, October 13, 2009

The exhibition, Tarzan ou Rousseau chez les Waziri (1) presented at the Musée du Quai Branly, in September 2009, seemed ...

Sunday, October 11, 2009

According to press reports, France has agreed to return the the five ancient Egyptian frescos that Zahi Hawass claimed h ...

body-container-line