modernghana logo

FEATURED STORY Why Christian Clergymen Are Unqualified To Pronounce Blessings On Their Con...

body-container-line

Leo Igwe: 165 Publications

South East Nigeria, Biafra: Military action and Agitation

Tuesday, September 19, 2017

The Nigerian Humanist Movement is deeply concerned by the recent military action and ongoing agitation for Biafra by ...

Friday, September 8, 2017

People invoke witchcraft to make sense of misfortune in situations where they do not want to accept responsibility. T ...

Saturday, August 19, 2017

Belief in the potency of charms persists in many parts of Nigeria, and Africa despite the spread of modern education, ...

Thursday, August 17, 2017

We must be unrelenting in making this demand and in asking this question: Why do religions need money, our money for ...

Wednesday, August 16, 2017

I have heard a lot about an Africa, about a side of Africa- the dogmatic side, the faith filled, blindly believing Af ...

Thursday, August 10, 2017

Thank you the International Humanist and Ethical Union (IHEU) for selecting me as the recipient of the Distinguished Ser ...

Thursday, July 13, 2017

It was an opportunity to counter Islamic fanaticism but the Sultan of Sokoto, Muhammadu Sa 39;ad Abubakar III, blew ...

Friday, July 7, 2017

The need for critical thinking in Africa cannot be overemphasized because it is in this region that some of the dark ...

Tuesday, April 18, 2017

In a recent lecture , Owen Jones, who described himself as a lsquo;socialist humanist rsquo; and an lsquo;atheist r ...

Friday, April 14, 2017

Recent events in Nigeria, Senegal and other parts of Islamic Africa should make Muslims across the region to start re ...

Thursday, April 6, 2017

Atheism is a term that is not often associated with Africa and Africans. Studies have rather linked both ancient and ...

Monday, April 3, 2017

The Atheist Society of Nigeria (ASN) has drawn the attention of the Medical and Dental Council of Nigeria to the unet ...

Saturday, March 25, 2017

The recent case of a traditionalpriest in Ghana who was fatally wounded in the process of testing his supposed anti-b ...

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Yesterday, over fifty persons protested in front of the office of the Amnesty International in Abuja, Nigeria. Source ...

Monday, March 20, 2017

Atheism is now an lsquo;incorporated belief rsquo; in Nigeria. The news, coming out of Africa rsquo;s most populous ...

Sunday, January 22, 2017

The Nigerian Humanist Movement (NHM) was founded in 1996 and the main goal was to provide an alternative to religion ...

Friday, January 20, 2017

Very early in life, I noticed a connection between questioning and change - between asking why? Why not? How do you k ...

Monday, January 2, 2017

The Sultan of Sokoto, Sa rsquo;ad Abubakar (lll) has made it clear that hatred, inequity, injustice and discrimination a ...

Wednesday, December 28, 2016

Anxiety prevails in the Gambia as the people await what becomes of their country come January 19. Will this country t ...

Thursday, December 22, 2016

For over five years I have been living in Europe, and I have never at any time been as worried as I am right now for ...

Wednesday, December 21, 2016

Twisted thinking that seeks to use religion to legitimize hatred and discrimination against gays was recently displa ...

Friday, December 2, 2016

People sleep for some time but they may not sleep forever. The grip of an ideology, religious or secular, that holds ...

Wednesday, November 30, 2016

Zimbabwe stands to gain a lot from the spread of secular values in the country because faith groups are taking advant ...

Friday, November 25, 2016

The image of a SouthAfrican pastor spraying his congregation with a pesticide called Doom during a lsquo;healing ses ...

Monday, November 21, 2016

The Sultan of Sokoto, Alhaji Muhammad Sa rsquo;ad Abubakar III has recently attributed the current economic recession in ...

Saturday, November 12, 2016

The Jigawa state government has just announced a major state development project: the construction of ninety mosques; ...

Sunday, November 6, 2016

A court in Kano state in Northern Nigeria has acquitted five persons who were arrested in connection with the killing of ...

body-container-line