ModernGhana logo
08.10.2019 Africa

West Africa Media Excellence Awards 2019: List of Finalists

By Media Foundation For West Africa
West Africa Media Excellence Awards 2019: List of Finalists
LISTEN OCT 8, 2019

The Media Foundation for West Africa (MFWA) has announced the list of finalists for the 2019 edition of the prestigious West Africa Media Excellence Awards (WAMECA 2019).

This year’s event will be held on Saturday, October 19, at the Swiss Spirit Alisa Hotel, Accra, Ghana and will host the Chairperson of the Information Regulator of South Africa and Former African Commission’s Special Rapporteur on Freedom of Expression and Access to Information, Advocate Pansy Tlakula , as guest of honour.

The 2019 West Africa Media Excellence Awards received 724 entries from over 15 countries in West Africa. The 5-member Jury of the Awards after a thorough review of the entries shortlisted 21 finalists from six countries.

The shortlisted finalists for WAMECA 2019 are:

  • Seriba Kone,, Cote D’Ivoire
  • Edward Adeti, Starr FM, Ghana
  • Bettie K. Johnson-Mbayo, Frontpage Africa, Liberia
  • Sama Tounwendsida Hugues Richard, L’Observeteur Paala, Burkina Faso,
  • Cletus Umoh Ukpong, PREMIUM TIMES, Nigeria
  • Beryl Ernestina Richter, Joy News, Ghana
  • Mame Diomma Dramé, Ouestaf News, Senegal
  • Odinaka Kennis Anudu, Business Day, Nigeria
  • Sawadogo Delwendé Elza Sandrine Clothilde, L’Economiste Du Faso, Burkina Faso
  • Timothy Ngnenbe, Graphic Online, Ghana
  • Tobore Ovuorie, The Nation Newspaper, Nigeria
  • Seth Kwame Boateng, Joy News, Ghana
  • Joseph Haro, Sidwaya, Burkina Faso
  • Kunle Adebajo, ICIR, Nigeria
  • Nabil Ahmed Rufai, GHOne TV, Ghana
  • Tunde Ajaja, Punch, Nigeria
  • Tagnan Rodrigue Arnaud, Mutations, Burkina Faso
  • Emmanuel K. Dogbevi, ICIJ/Cenozo, Ghana
  • Aneta Chineye Felix, Nigeria, TV360 Nigeria
  • Justice Baidoo, Joy News, Ghana
  • Emmanuel Kwasi Debrah, Joy News, Ghana


The winners for the various categories including the West African Journalist of the Year will be announced at the Awards event on the 19th of October, 2019.

All finalists will receive a Certificate of Merit. Ultimate winners will receive plaques, certificates and cash prizes.

All 21 finalists will also be inducted as fellows of the MFWA’s Journalism for Change Network and will be offered regular training opportunities both locally and internationally to enhance their capacity to influence positive change in society through journalism.

West Africa Media Excellence Conference and Awards (WAMECA 2019) is supported by Facebook, MTN-Ghana, the US Embassy in Ghana, Access Now, DW Akademie, William and Flora Hewlett Foundation, Stanbic Bank and Swiss Spirit Alisa Hotel. The event is also supported by over 50 media partners across West Africa.

For more details on the event, visit .

ModernGhana Links

Join our Newsletter