ModernGhana logo
02.11.2005 NPP News

Upper West NPP elects Executive

Listen to article

Wa, Nov 2, GNA - Alhaji Abubakari Abdul Rahman, a Wa-based Businessman was on Wednesday elected as the new Regional Chairman of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) at Wa.

He polled 42 of 58 votes to beat Mr. Abdul Aziz Mohammed, his contestant and to replace Alhaji Abudulai Issahaque former Regional chairman, who did not contest any position.

Messrs John Doughr Baloro, a Contractor, and Lambert Jato, were both elected unopposed as first Vice Chairman and Treasurer, respectively, while Alhaji Umar Karbo became the new second vice chairman after polling 32 votes against 26 polled by an opponent. Mr. Abu Ibrahim Tammah Tony, former Assistant Secretary, polled 40 votes to beat Edward Abu Dombo, who polled 18 for the position of Regional secretary.

Messrs Moomin Salifu Sittah and Abraham Bakpala polled 45 and 35 votes to become the new assistant secretary and Regional Organizer respectively.

Mr. Hafiz Bin-Salih polled 42 votes to become the new youth Organizer while Mrs. Helen Bagonluuri polled 33 out of the 58 votes to become the Women's Organizer.

The election, which was conducted by the Electoral Commission, was described as free and fair, but for a nasty incident in which some of the supporters attempted to prevent Mr. Sahanun Mogtari, former Regional Minister from entering the conference hall.

Mr. Harona Esseku, National chairman of the NPP told the delegates to put election activities behind and forge ahead for the victory of the Party in future elections.

"What has happened here is a clear demonstration of democracy in the Party, but I want you to carry that enthusiasm towards the 2008 general election to return the NPP to power."

Mr. Ambrose Dery, Upper West Regional Minister, appealed to all Party members to see themselves as shareholders of the party and therefore need to contribute their quota towards it victory. Alhaji Rahman popularly known as Alhaji short, the new chairman, pledged to revive the party in the region to increase its parliamentary seats in 2008.