FEATURED: Let's Embed Rawlings' Values In The National Psyche — Parliament...

28.10.2005 NDC News

Bekwai constituency NDC elects officers

Listen to article

Bekwai (Ash), Oct 28, GNA - Mr. Salisu Musah polled 218 votes to win the chairmanship slot of the Bekwai constituency of the National Democratic Congress at its delegates' congress at Asante-Bekwai on Thursday.

Nana Opoku Frefre and Nana Oppong Kyekyeku, his two challengers, polled 20 and 10 votes respectively.

Mr. Thomas Osei polled 157 votes to snatch the position of secretary from Mr Jacob Boateng, who had 75 votes, while Mr, Francis Agyemang secured 156 votes to take the post of vice-chairman, beating Mr Kwabena Eghan and Madam Afua Pokuaa who had 37 and 29 votes respectively.

The incumbent treasurer, Mr Karikari Acheampong and nine other executive members were returned unopposed.

They included Mr Isaac Okyere, assistant secretary, Mr Huudu Omari, organizer, Mr Stephen Aduas, assistant organizer, Madam Belawo Mohammed, women's organizer, Maame Dagomba, deputy women's organizer, Mr Noah Kyei Baffour, youth organizer, Mr Francis Anane, deputy youth organizer, Nana Kwadwo Appiah alias 'Bozen', propaganda secretary and Mr John Naawu, deputy propaganda secretary.

In his acceptance speech, Mr. Musah thanked the delegates for the confidence reposed in him and the newly elected executive and assured the party's supporters that his election marked a turning point for the better in the party in the constituency.

Mr. Alex Yaw Opoku, Deputy Ashanti Regional Propaganda Secretary of the party, swore the executives into office. Mr. Yaw Obimpeh, the Regional Youth Organizer, assisted him.

Modern Ghana Links