Modern Ghana logo

FEATURED: Ghana Needs A College Of Common Sense To Function Well...

NPP News | Feb 25, 2018

NPP Central Region Elects Constituency Executives

NPP Central Region Elects Constituency Executives

Mr Stephen Kojo Arhin, a 66 year businessman has been elected the New Patriotic Party's (NPP) Chairman for the Cape Coast North constituency.

He polled 236 out of the total 440 votes cast to beat the incumbent, Mrs Cecilia Acquah who had 189 of the votes.

Mr Sampson Atiako Amponsah obtained 220 votes to defeat Mr Francis Abaidoo who had 218 to win the Vice Chairman position.

The second vice chairman position went to Mr. David Apinyah who polled 185 as against Mrs Dorcas Annan and Mr. Eric Kwodwo Nketiah, who obtained 179 and 75 votes respectively.

Mr. Emmanuel Ebo Sabbah retained the secretary position with 303 votes as against Mr. Lawrence Ampah, who had 136.

The assistant secretary position was won by Nana Jesse Telfa Robert, who had 266 while women organiser went to Nana Bart-Plange, who polled 335 to beat Madam Veronica Mensah who had 181 votes.

Mr Anthony Korsah also defeated Mr Isaac Newton Dick with 233 votes as against 207 to become the new constituency youth organiser while Mr Michael Appiah-Eduenu was elected as the constituency organiser.

The treasurer position went to Mr. Wilson Kwofie, who had 346 votes and the organiser position went to Mr. Richard Kwadu Sam, who had 492.

Alhaji Yushawu Ishaak had 256 votes and was elected the Nasara Coordinator for the constituency.

Mr. Stephen Arhin, the new chairman, promised to unite both the old and the new folks of the party for effective campaigning to enable NPP retain power in 2020.

Mr Arhin has been a member of the party since 1992 and remained a founding member in the Abura and Pedu area in Cape Coast and has served in several capacities in the then Cape Coast Constituency.

The election was supervised by officials from the Electoral Commission.

Meanwhile, the Cape Coast South constituency elections which was scheduled for Sunday February 25, had been postponed due to a court injunction.

Concerned members of NPP had gone to court to seek an injunction on the elections because they claimed one of the aspirants contesting for the Chairmanship position in the constituency was not an eligible voter and therefore could contest the elections.

But elsewhere in the Region, Mr Bruce Dompson was elected as the Chairman of the Asikuma Odoben Brakwa Constituency with Mr Joseph Asante and Mr Richmond Effa Forson as first and second Vice Chairmen respectively.

Mr Frederick Asamoah Boateng polled 322 as against 318 by his main contender, Mr Francis Benyin to become the constituency Secretary while Madam Judith Asante Asamoah and Mr Ebenezer Ebo Appiah Apreku were elected as Women's organiser and organiser respectively.

In the Twifo Ati-Mokwa Constituency, Mr Kingsford Kweku Wilson was elected as the new constituency Chairman with Mr Abraham Kofi Mensah and Mr Mike Donkor as first and second Vice respectively.

Mr Augustine Amoakwah won as the secretary with Mr Ebenezer Oduro as the assistant while Mr Ekow Francis Amponsah, Mr Frank Yeboah and Madam Angelina Nyarko were respectively elected as the Organiser, youth organiser and Women's Organiser.

Mr Kofi Asare Baah won the chairmanship position in the Assin Central constituency while Mr Kwesi Adjei Yeboah and Mr Frank Boafo were elected as first and second Vice chairmen respectively.

Mr Akuamoah was elected Secretary with Mr Ebenezer Afarto being his assistant.

Madam Charlotte Antwi stood unopposed for the Women's organiser while Odeneho Kwakye Appiah and Francis Annin won the organiser and youth organiser respectively.

By Afedzi Abdullah, GNA