FEATURED: Why Are Black People Obsessed With The Bible That Was Used To Enslave ...

08.11.2008 Elections

NDC dismisses 10 leading members

By myjoyonline
NDC dismisses 10 leading members

The National Executive Committee of the National Democratic Congress has dismissed ten leading members of the party, less than a month to the December polls.

The ten are contesting as independent parliamentary candidates in the upcoming polls after losing the party's primaries.

The committee has asked for the names of the ten to be expunged from the party's register and has authorised them to return all party property at their disposal.

Apart from the dismissal, other executives and members of the party, risk suspension if they are seen supporting any of the ten candidates.

The affected persons include, Mr. SK Oppong of the Agona West constituency, Seth Dominic Aglago, Avenor Ave, Samuel Kobby Adeapena, Ayawaso West Wuogon, Ekow Asirifi Buckman of the Mfantsiman East constituency.

Others are Anthony Frimpong, Essikuma Odobeng Brakwa and Alhassan Dramani, Tamale North constituencies.

The move is geared towards maintaining party loyalty and to deter others from defying party rules.

Story by Nathan Gadugah and based on Joy News report.