FEATURED: Let's Embed Rawlings' Values In The National Psyche — Parliament...

23.07.2018 General News

Nana Addo Nominates New EC Chair

By Eric Nana Yaw Kwafo
Nana Addo Nominates New EC Chair
LISTEN JUL 23, 2018

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akuffo Addo has appointed the Executive Director for the Institute of Economic Affairs (IEA), Mrs. Jean Mensah as the new Chair of the Electoral Commission (EC). A statement signed by Chief of Staff, Honorable Akosua Frema Osei-Opare also highlighted the nomination of two other deputies as well as a member to work for the commission.

The three other people nominated by the President to assume vacant positions at the EC are Mr. Samuel Tettey who is currently the Director of Electoral Services, Dr. Eric Asare Bossman who is the head of the Political Science Department of the University of Ghana and Ms. Adwoa Asuama Abrefa, a corporate legal practitioner who will is to be a member of the Commission.

Mrs. Mensah is expected to replace Madam Charlotte Osei as the EC boss once she is approved by the council of state. President Nana Addo is hopeful that the council of state will discharge their constitutional duties expeditiously to enable him to make these critical appointments to the electoral institution.

The seat of the chairperson of the EC became vacant earlier this month when a directive from the Presidency carrying the power of his Excellency Nana Addo highlighted the removal of Mrs. Charlotte Osei from office. The removal was on the back of recommendations from a committee set up by the Chief Justice Sophia Akuffo to investigate alleged acts of corruption, misconduct and misbehaviour by the three commissioners.

Find Attached The Released Statement confirming the Nominations;

New Ec Boss And DeputiesNew Ec Boss And Deputies

Eric Nana Yaw Kwafo
Eric Nana Yaw Kwafo


Modern Ghana Links