Modern Ghana logo

FEATURED: Can We Blame Religion For Africa’s Economic Woes?...

28.07.2005 Politics

Six candidates contest Odododiodioo Poll


Accra, July 28, GNA - Six candidates have filed their nominations with the Electoral Commission at the close of nominations on Thursday July 28 to contest the Odododiodoo bye-election in Greater Accra on August 30, this year.

At the close of nominations, Mr. Tackie Nii Commey filed to contest on the ticket of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) and occupied the first position after balloting and the ruling New Patriotic Party (NPP) has its candidate, Mr. Lennox Sidney Asafoatse Kojo Mankattah occupying the fourth position.

The Convention People's Party (CPP) candidate, Mr. Christian Sahnko Bruce took the second position, while the Democratic People's Party (DPP), Mr Issaka Nii Amu Collison-Cofie stands at the third position.

Two Independent Candidates, Mr. Alexander Nii Ayitey Wiseman, with the broom as his symbol is occupying the fifth position with Mr. Walid Laryea, with the star as his symbol occupies the sixth position.

Mr. Nat Quaye, Odododiodioo Electoral Officer said all the candidates have fulfilled their electoral obligations. The Electoral Office was charged with drumming and merry making by the vociferous supporters of the candidates of both NPP and NDC, trying to out-do one another. Mr. Quaye said after the filing of the papers all the supporters together with their candidates left the scene peacefully.