15.04.2005 NPP News

Adofo Dwamena and 41 others dismissed from NPP

Adofo Dwamena and 41 others dismissed from NPP
LISTEN APR 15, 2005

Agona Swedru, April 15, GNA - The Disciplinary Committee of the Agona West Constituency of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) has recommended the dismissal of the suspended executive members under the chairmanship of Mr Adofo Dwamena.

The other members are Ebusuapayin Kofi Eku, Henry Taliskis, Baffour Awuah, Evelyn Duodu, S K Idan, Albitey, Jeff Sarfo and Samuel Donkoh. The 10th member of the suspended executives, Mr Eshun-Wood dissociated himself from the activities of the other members by joining the constituency campaign team for the 2004 election.

Some Polling Station Chairmen at Swedru and other places in the constituency who defected from the NPP to become polling station agents for Mr P K Tawiah, the party member who lost the NPP primary in 2004, but later stood as an Independent candidate have also been dismissed. The dismissal of the 42 members in the Agona West followed their refusal to appear before the disciplinary committee set up to investigate letters and petitions wrote by the suspended executives to the Regional Executives calling for the withdrawal of Mr Samuel Obodai as the 2004 Parliamentary candidate of the party.

The committee found that the polling station chairmen also signed a petition to the Regional Executives that they would not associate themselves with Mr Obodai and the Party, which contravened Article 3 and 4 of the NPP constitution.

The Disciplinary Committee said Mr Obodai was elected as the NPP candidate for the 2004 election for the Agona West at the Swedru Town Hall in July 2004.

Therefore any person or group within the party who disassociated himself or themselves from his campaign rebelled against the NPP. The Committee pointed out that the 2004 Presidential and Parliamentary elections were conducted without the help of the suspended executive members led by Adofo Dwamena, adding that, they openly campaigned for the Independent candidate.

The committee said that it found it difficult to see how Mr Adofo Dwamena and the other dismissed members could live peacefully with the MP and the Party members, adding that, they also insulted the entire citizens of Agona as well.

Members of the Disciplinary Committee under the Chairmanship of Nana Ogyabea Bedu Ehuren recommended that they should be expelled from the party to serve as a deterrent.

ModernGhana Links

Join our Newsletter