ModernGhana logo
28.10.2004 General News

C'ttee on emoluments for President, Speaker appointed

Listen to article

Accra, Oct. 28, GNA - President John Agyekum Kufuor has appointed a four-member Committee to determine the emoluments of public officers listed under Article 71 of the Constitution and make recommendations for those of the President, Vice-President and others.

A statement signed in Accra on Thursday by Mr Kwadwo Mpiani, Chief of Staff, named Mrs Mary Chinery-Hesse as the Chairperson of the Committee with Mr Alex Ashiabor, Mr Fred Oware and Mr Andani Alhassan as members.

The Committee would recommend for approval by Parliament the salaries and allowances payable, and the facilities available to the President; Vice-President; Chairman and other members of the Council of State; Ministers of State and Deputy Ministers.

The Officers whose salaries would be determined by the President upon the recommendations of the Committee include the Chief Justice and other Justices of the Superior Courts; Auditor-General; Chairman and Deputy Chairmen of the Electoral Commission; The Commissioner for Human Rights and Administrative Justice and his Deputies and the District Assemblies' Common Fund Administrator.

The rest are the Chairman, Vice Chairman and other members of the National Council for Higher Education; Public Services Commission; National Media Commission; Lands Commission and National Commission for Civic Education.

Join our Newsletter