ModernGhana logo
22.09.2004 Regional News

Presiding Member of Techiman Assembly re-elected

Listen to article

Techiman (B/A) Sept. 22, GNA - Mr. Emmanuel Twi-Yeboah, Presiding Member of Techiman Municipal Assembly was on Tuesday re-elected to serve another term.

He polled 47 out of the total of 50 votes of Assembly Members present, representing 57 per cent, whilst three votes were rejected by officials of the Electoral Commission led by Mr. George Gyabaah, Municipal Electoral Officer, who supervised the election.

Mr. Daniel Ofosu Boama, Assembly Member for Offuman Dampaso and Nana Sekyere Boateng, Assembly Member for Kuntunso-Bomiri, who had filed their nominations to contest for the positions withdrew at the eleventh hour.

Swearing him into office, Mr. Justice Erasmus Gyinae, High Court Judge, advised Mr. Twi-Yeboah to live up to the expectation of the Assembly Members, "who have wholeheartedly confirmed you for a second term".

Mr. Twi-Yeboah, in his acceptance speech thanked Members for re-electing him and pledged to work harder to justify the confidence they had reposed in him.

He urged them to bury their differences and work towards the development of the municipality.

Addressing the third ordinary meeting of the second session of the Assembly, attended by heads of department, boards and corporations, Mr. Isaac Osei-Antwi, Municipal Chief Executive, urged the Assembly Members to work conscientiously as a team to sustain the peace and stability in the municipality.

He advised them to avoid acts that could lead to the disruption of the December polls in the area and enjoined them to eschew the use of indecent language during political discussions.

Mr. Osei-Antwi expressed regret that the Offuman and Tuobodom chieftaincy disputes remained a threat to peace in the municipality and called on the Assembly Members to collaborate with the security agencies to maintain peace in the area.

Join our Newsletter