ModernGhana logo
16.09.2004 CPP News

CPP approves candidates for parliamentary vote

Listen to article

Accra, Sept. 16, GNA - The Central Committee of the Convention People's Party (CPP) said on Thursday that it has approved the election of a number of candidates to contest parliamentary seats on the party's ticket.

A statement signed in Accra by Dr Nii Noi Dowuona, General Secretary, named the candidates as Alhaji Abu Mumuni (Wa Cehtral), Mr Dennis B. Dery (Lawra/Nandom), Mrs Grace Ayulim Abayiak (Builsa North) Mr Amoro Mpuse (Bongo), Mr John Yaro (Talensi), Ms Evelyn Lamisi Anabila (Bolgatanga Central) and Mr Daniel Kunde Collins (Builsa South). Other candidates are Dr Abubakr Al-Hassan (Tamale South), Dr Nasser Gamel Adam (Tamale Central, Mr Basharu Alhassan Dabali (Tamale North), Mr Mohammed Imoro (Kumbugu), Mr Sampson Salifu Hussein (Tolon), Mr Michael Kwa-Ka (Chereponi), Mr Alabira Ibrahim (Mion) and Mr Alfred Mentor Semedor (Sawla/Kalba).

The CPP said it also approved Mr Akwasi Akoto (Okere) Mr Awuku Lokko (Akropong), Mjoihn Martey (Adieso), Mr S.K. Donkor (Ayensuano), Mr Francis Opai Tetteh (Yilo), Mr Nyantakyi Gyimah Aikins (Fanteakwa) and Mr Kwaku Zah (South Afram).

The Committee approved Dr Paa Kwesi Nduom (Komenda-Adina-Eguafo-Abirem), Ms Grace Appiah (Gomoa East), Safohene Araba Bentsi Enchi (Cape Coast), Mr Edu Amoah (Assin South), Mr Steve Quaye (Awutu-Senya) and Mr Sunu Quaye (Effutu). The election of Mr Vincent Norgbedzi (Avenor), Mr Michael Dedey (Ho Central), Ms Cordelia Deku (Ketu South) was also approved. The statement said the approval of other elected candidates would soon be published by the National Secretariat.

ModernGhana Links

Join our Newsletter