FEATURED: Why Are Black People Obsessed With The Bible That Was Used To Enslave ...

18.03.2009 General News

Parliament Approves 2009 Budget Statement


Parliament after two weeks of intense debate yesterday approved the budget statement and economic policy of the Government for the 2009 financial year presented to Parliament by the Finance Minister, Dr Kwabena Duffuor.

The budget dubbed 'Investing in a Better Ghana' was labeled and hailed by the majority as being  a Rescue Budget, pro-poor and good news for Ghanaians, and on the other hand by the minority ,as a 'Sakawa budget'.

Contributing to the debate, Hon Hackman Owusu -Agyemang,  Member of Parliament (MP) for New Juaben North called on for the establishment of a Financial Service Regulatory Authority to promote the interest of the private sector Citing the United States,

United Kingdom and Malaysia as examples, the MP expressed regret at the exploitation of the financial banking market and called on Government to justify the increment of the prime rate in the country.

MP for South Dayi , Hon Simon Edem Asimah, who touched on the water sector said the New Patriotic Party's  (NPP) Government under the leadership of Former president Kufuor failed on its commitment to provide water to the rural areas during its eight year rule.

His suggestion which did not go down well with the minority generated some heated augment from both sided of the house.

In his contribution MP for Manhyia, Dr Matthew Opoku Prempeh, spoke about the health sector and called on the Government to come out with a more pragmatic approach in fight against malaria.

The House later adopted the tenth Report of the Appointments Committee and approved the nomination of seven more Deputy Ministers appointed by the President John Evans Atta Mills for various ministerial positions.

They are Mr Reuben Nii Nortey Dua, Deputy Minister-designate for Youth and Sports; Mr Henry Ford Kamel, Deputy Minister-designate for Lands and Natural Resources; Mr John Gyetuah, Deputy Minister-designate for Trade and Industry and Mr Eric Opoku, Deputy  Minister-designate, Brong Ahafo Region.

The rest are Mr Kale Cezario, Deputy Minister-designate for Upper West Region; Mr Moses Mabengba, Deputy Minister-designate for Northern Region; and Ms Hawawu Boya Gariba, Deputy Minister-designate for Women and Children's Affairs.

Presenting the Report Hon Enoch T. Mensah, Vice Chairman of the Committee said the Committee has satisfied itself that the nominees have fully met the requirement of the constitution hence their approval.