FEATURED: Why Are Black People Obsessed With The Bible That Was Used To Enslave ...

27.02.2009 Golf

Poku, Cobbina Win Tafo Prez Putter

By Daily Guide
Poku, Cobbina Win Tafo Prez Putter

Prince Kofi Amoabeng presenting award Akwesi Poku of Celebrity Golf Club, and immediate past lady captain of Achimota Golf Club, Esi Cobbina won the Tafo President Putter event at a two-day annual invitation tournament which ended at Tafo on Sunday.

While Akwesi Poku swept all his male competitors off their feet with a three under par 69 net for the ultimate prize in the men's division. Esi Cobbina made it in the ladies category with a not too impressive 75 net, which notwithstanding gave her a win over Mona Myers Lamptey

who returned 78 net.
Current captain of Achimota Club, Mike Aggrey, took the men's runner-up prize with a count back score of 71 net over Sam Bannerman-Wood.

S.S. Peprah, with a 94 net score, took the men's booby prize with the ladies version going to Achimota's Betty Allotey, also with a 94 net score.

Captain of the club, Dr. F.K. Oppong, in a welcome speech commended participants for showing solidarity with Tafo despite their commitment to other clubs who engage in similar events.

He particularly mentioned the captain of Achimota, Mike Aggrey, who auctioned his prized golf bag to raise funds to support the club, and his team, as well as the Celebrity Golf Club for their turn up.

Dr. Oppong, in his annual report at its Annual General Meeting (AGM) which climaxed the weekend's event, announced the completion and commissioning of development on Hole 6, with improvement on Holes 4 and 5 on going.

He said the president's Educational Fund to support needy young golfers and caddies was yielding very positive results saying, “17 beneficiaries of the fund were improving tremendously.”

Meanwhile, the following have been elected as the new executives for the year alongside the president; Prince Kofi Amoabeng, with  Captain Dr. F.K. Oppong and his Vice P.A. Sersah retaining their positions.

The rest of the executives are K Safo-Debrah; vice president, Dr. Osei Bonsu; treasurer, Susie Kyere; secretary and Kofi Asante; executive member.