13.01.2008 NDC News

Akufo-Addo is illegitimate flag bearer – NDC

Akufo-Addo is illegitimate flag bearer – NDC
Listen to article

The National Democratic Congress (NDC) on Saturday asserted that the appointment of Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo Addo as the flag bearer of the ruling New Patriotic Party (NPP) is a dent on the party's democratic credentials.

“The process of appointing Nana Akufo Addo at the NPP's December Special National Delegates Congress was a perpetuation of fraud on the delegates and disrespect to the reasoning of the over 2000 delegates who had travelled from the length and breadth of the country to attend the congress.

“The delegates were tricked into accepting an orchestrated plan in clear violation of Article 12 (7)
of the party's own Constitution,” Mr Danny A. Annang, NDC Greater Accra Regional Chairman told the Ghana News Agency.

At the close of over 16-hours of voting and counting, at the NPP December Congress Nana Akufo-Addo obtained 1,096 of the total 2,285 valid votes cast, representing about 47.97 per cent; Mr Alan John Kwadwo Kyerematen polled 738 votes representing about 32.30.

Mr Kyerematen stood down after the first round of voting to pave the way for Nana Akufo-Addo to be declared winner.

However Article 12 (7) of the NPP Constitution, on the Election of the Presidential Candidate states: "Where there is only one contestant for nominations as the Party's presidential candidate, the National Congress shall acclaim his nomination as the party's Presidential Candidate.

"Where there is more than one contestant, each delegate will cast his or her vote by secret ballot for one of the contestants. Where a contestant obtains more than fifty percent (50%) of the votes cast, he or she shall be the party's Presidential Candidate.

"Where, however, no contestant obtains more than 50% of the votes cast, there shall be a run-off between the first two contestants and the contestant with a simple majority shall be the party's Presidential Candidate. In the event of a tie between the two contestants, the run off will continue until one contestant obtains a simple majority."

According to the NDC regional Chairman, Nana Akufo- Addo was imposed on the delegates by Mr Kyeremanten the challenger who conceded defeat to Nana Akufo-Addo in the first round of voting.

He urged the electorate to reject Nana Akufo-Addo, on the grounds that about 53 percent of his own people – Delegates at the December Congress rejected him as he failed to obtain the more than 50 percent votes.

He said the NPP flag bearer cannot stand among the community of properly elected flag bearers; Professor John Evans Atta Mills, former Vice President, who polled 1,362 votes, representing 81.4 per cent of the total votes cast, to win the NDC slot.

Dr. Edward Nasigri Mahama, polled 534 votes representing 58 percent to win the Peoples National Convention's slot and Dr. Paa Kwesi Nduom who secured 1,067 votes, representing 53.8%, to win the Convention Peoples Party (CPP) slot.

The NDC chairman said the NPP should have consulted the Convention Peoples' Party (CPP) when none of its 17 Aspirants failed to obtain more than 50 per cent of the votes for electoral tutorials.

He said in 2000, the CPP went through similar experience at its National Delegates Congress, where the four Presidential aspirants failed to obtain more than 50 percent votes.

According to statistics of the Electoral Commission made available to GNA; at the end of voting Mr George Aggudey, polled 652 votes (38,9 per cent), Professor George Hagan, 490 (29.2 per cent), Alhaji Ibrahim Mahama, 484 (28.8 per cent), and Mr Johnny Hansen, 52 votes (3.1 per cent).

Since none of the four aspirants was able to secure the 51 per cent required by the constitution of the party, the two leading aspirants - Mr Aggudey and Prof. Hagan – were tabled for second round balloting to declare the eventual winner to lead the party.

Prof Hagan emerged winner with 920 votes, comprising 58.8 per cent of a total of 1,564 valid votes cast in a second round of election between him and Mr. Aggudey who had 644 votes, representing 41.2 per cent of the total valid votes.

ModernGhana Links

Join our Newsletter