ModernGhana logo
30.10.2019 Football News

2021 AFCON Qualifiers: Torric Jibril Named In Ghana's Squad For South Africa, Tomé & Príncipe Clash

By Samuel Ekow Amoasi Appiah
2021 AFCON Qualifiers: Torric Jibril Named In Ghana's Squad For South Africa, Tomé & Príncipe Clash
LISTEN OCT 30, 2019

Former Hearts of Oak sensation, Torric Jibril has been named in Ghana's squad for the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers against South Africa and Sao Tome.

The 25-year-old who is making waves in the Congo with African giants TP Mazembe has been included a 23-man squad for two qualifying matches against South Africa and São Tomé and Príncipe.

Debut call-ups have been handed to goalkeeper Razak Abalora, Spain-based duo Iddrisu Baba and Mohammed Salisu, German-based Christopher Antwi Adjei as well as AshantiGold skipper Shafiu Mumuni, who won golden boot at the WAFU Cup of Nations.

Ghana will host Bafana Bafana of South Africa at home on Thursday 14th November 2019 at the Cape Coast Stadium, before traveling to São Tomé and Príncipe to face them on Monday 18th November.

The Black Stars are expected to begin training in Cape Coast from Monday 11 November 2019 with the team expected to hold one training session a day.

However, Asamoah Gyan, John Boye, Christian Atsu and Kwadwo Asamoah have all been dropped from the 23 man squad.

The Black Stars are in Group C of the qualifiers alongside South Africa, São Tomé and Príncipe, and Sudan for the tournament which will be staged in Cameroon in 2021.

Black Stars squad for AFCON 2021 qualifiers against South Africa & São Tomé and Príncipe:

Richard Ofori (Maritzburg FC, South Africa), Felix Annan (Asante Kotoko, Ghana), Razak Abalora (Azam FC, Tanzania).

Andy Yiadom (Reading, England), Harrison Afful (Columbus Crew, USA), Lumor Agbenyenu (Real Mallorca, Spain), Joseph Aidoo (Celta Vigo, Spain), Joseph Aidoo (Celta Vigo, Spain), Kassim Nuhu (Fortuna Dusseldorf, Germany), Nicholas Opoku (Udinese, Italy), Mohammed Salisu (Real Valladolid, Spain)

Samuel Owusu (Al Fahya, Saudi Arabia), Thomas Partey (Atletico Madrid, Spain), Alfred Duncan (Sassuolo, Italy), Mubarak Wakaso (Deportivo Alaves, Spain), Iddrisu Baba (Real Mallorca, Spain), Christopher Antwi-Adjei (SC Paderborn, Germany).

Andre Ayew (Swansea, England), Mohammed Kudus (FC Nordsjaelland, Denmark), Emmanuel Boateng (Dalian Yifang, China), Jordan Ayew (Crystal Palace, England), Torric Jibril (TP Mazembe, DR Congo), Shafiu Mumuni (Ashantigold).

Samuel Ekow Amoasi Appiah
Samuel Ekow Amoasi Appiah

Sports Journalist

ModernGhana Links

Join our Newsletter