28.04.2006 Politics

Kufuor restructures ministerial team

Kufuor restructures ministerial team
28.04.2006 LISTEN

Osafo-Maafo, Botwe, Apraku, Otoo, Bintim, Churcher fired!
...Kwabena Agyepong Resigns.

Accra, April 28, GNA - President John Agyekum Kufuor on Thursday announced a restructured government list, realigning and re-designating ministerial portfolios while retaining some key others. In a statement signed by the Chief of Staff, Mr Kwadwo Mpiani, the President created a new Ministry of Aviation and also elevated some deputy Ministers to substantive positions.
Conspicuously missing in the new ministerial list were Mr Yaw Osafo-Maafo, who until Thursday was the Minister of Education, Youth and Sports, Mr Dan Botwe, Information, Dr Kofi Konadu Apraku, Minister of State, Regional Cooperation and NEPAD, Mr Ayikoi Otoo, Attorney General and Minister of Justice, Ms Christine Churcher, Science and Environment, and Mr Charles Bintim, Local Government and Rural Development.

Those retaining their portfolios included Defence Minister Kwame Addo-Kufuor, Kwadwo Baah-Wiredu, Minister of Finance and Economic Planning, and Nana Addo-Dankwa Akufo-Addo, who now heads a realigned Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Regional Integration and NEPAD.

Others are Mr Jake Obetsebi-Lamptey, Minister of Tourism and Diasporean Relations, formerly Tourism and Modernization of the Capital City, Mr Alan Kyeremanteng, responsible for an expanded Ministry of Trade, Industry, Private Sector and President's Special Initiatives, and Dr Richard Anane, Minister of Transportation.

Ms Gloria Akuffo, former deputy Greater Accra Regional Minister has been elevated and is now responsible for a newly created Aviation Ministry, while Mr Francis Poku, formerly National Security Coordinator, has been appointed a Minister for National Security.

Mr Joe Ghartey, a former deputy minister, has been elevated to the substantive position of Attorney General and Minister of Justice, so has Mr Stephen Asamoah-Boateng, former deputy Minister of Tourism and Modernization of the Capital City, been elevated. He is now in charge of an expanded Ministry of Local Government, Rural Development and Environment.

Prof Mike Oquaye, formerly of Energy, now becomes Minister of Communication, replacing Mr Albert Kan-Dapaah, who now moves to the Interior Ministry.

Mr Joseph Kofi Adda, formerly Minister of Manpower, Youth and Employment, has been reassigned to the Ministry of Energy. Succeeding him at his previous post will be Northern Regional Minister Boniface Saddique. Interior Minister Papa Owusu Ankomah is now Minister responsible for a realigned Ministry of Education, Science and Sports, while Mr Kwamena Bartels, formerly of Private Sector Development and President's Special Initiative, has been reassigned to the modified Ministry of Information and National Orientation.

Others whose designations remained unchanged are Major Courage Quashigah (Rtd), Minister of Health, Mr Ernest Debrah, Food and Agriculture, Professor Dominic Fobih, Lands, Forestry and Mines, Mr Hackman Owusu Agyeman, Water Resources, Works and Housing, Dr Paa Kwesi Nduom, Public Sector Reform and Mr Felix Owusu Adjepong, Parliamentary Affairs.

The rest are Mrs Gladys Asmah, Minister of Fisheries, Alhajia Alima Mahama, Women and Children's Affairs, Professor Christopher Ameyaw-Ekumfi, Ports and Railways.

Kwabena Agyepong, Press Secretary to the President Kwabena Agyepong has resigned.

The statement said the list of Regional Ministers and Deputy Ministers would be released later. 28 April 06

ModernGhana Links