01.05.2005 General News

Workers honoured at May Day Parade

Listen to article

Takoradi, May 1, GNA - Twenty-one workers from the 17 unions of the Ghana Trades Union Congress (TUC) were on Sunday presented with awards at the 2005 May Day parade in Takoradi.

The award winners included Mr Emmanuel Agbenyega, Chairman of the Asankrangwa branch of the Public Services Workers Union (PSWU), John Eshun, Chairman of the Sekondi-Takoradi branch of the Health Services Workers Union and Mr Francis Ghansah, Chairman of the Sekondi-Takoradi Council of Labour.

Others were Miss Rebecca Etroo, a regional executive member of the Public Utility Workers Union, Mr John Agyapong, Chairman of the Wassa West branch of the Local Government Workers Union, Mr Jerry Odei Nyarko, National Executive Member of the General Agricultural Workers Union and Mr Francis Otis Otoo, Assistant Secretary of the Sekondi-Takoradi branch of the General Transport Petroleum and Chemical Workers Union. They were presented with television sets and high fidelity radio/cassette players.

Organisations that took part in the parade included John Bitar Limited, Electricity Company of Ghana, Ghana Water Company, Ghana Commercial Bank, Judicial Service and Volta River Authority among others.

ModernGhana Links