ModernGhana logo
17.08.2003 Regional News

Traditional Council plans to develop area

Listen to article

Awutu-Beraku, (C/R), Aug. 17, GNA - The Standing Committee of the Awutu Traditional Council in the Central Region has put in place seven working committees to enhance the socio-economic development of the traditional area.

They are, Finance, Education and Culture, Research, Security and Defence, Conflict Resolution, Agriculture, and Development committees. Nai Kwao Otuo V, Chief of Awutu-Mankessim and Acting President of the Awutu Traditional Council, announced this at an emergency meeting of the standing committee at Awutu-Beraku at the weekend.

Nai Otuo, who is also the Central Regional Chairman of the Ghana National Farmers and Fishermen Association (GNAFF), announced that this at the standing committee meeting planning this year's annual Awubia festival of the people of Awutu Traditional Area.

It will take off on August 28, and end on September 4, 2003. He appealed to all Awutu citizens in and outside Ghana attend the festival and contribute their quota to accelerate the socio-economic transformation of the traditional area.

Nai Otuo reminded Awutus of the honour done them by the government by establishing the first industrial starch processing factory in the traditional area.

A member of the standing committee, Nai Ncharkey III, charged the youth in the area to develop a sustained interest in the industrial starch cassava project to earn them a decent living. He called on fellow chiefs and family heads to make lands available for young men and women wishing to go into large-scale cassava plantation to do so to feed the factory.

Nai Ncharkey announced the establishment of a special 25-member strong watchdog committee to assist policemen in Awutu, the capital town of the traditional area to protect the people against criminals. To ensure that criminals did not gain access into the watchdog committee the council had initiated moves to issue special identification cards to members of the committee.

Other members of the standing committee are, Nai Adawu Duaquaye VI, Nai Operteh Kontem II, Nai Aryikai Armah II, Nai Kwao Pai Obeng II, and Nai Tawiah Quaye Larbie I. 17 Aug. 2003

Join our Newsletter