FEATURED: Why Are Black People Obsessed With The Bible That Was Used To Enslave ...

30.01.2009 General News

Parliament Approves Five Member Advisory Committee

By ISD (Gilbert Ankrah & Richard Osie)

Parliament in  pursuant of clause (2) (b ) Article 124 of the Constitution  yesterday adopted the motion for the  approval of  a five- member Advisory  Comittee to advise the Speaker  of Parliament on the appointment of members of the Parliamentry Service Board.

They include, majority leader, Hon Alban S. K. Bagbin, minority leader Hon Osei-Kyei-Mensah, MP for Talensi, John Tia AKologu, MP for Twifu- Atti MorKwaa, Mrs Elisabeth Tetteh-Amoah and MP for SeKondi, Papa Owusu- Ankomah .

The Board when Set up shall constitute the Speaker as chairman, the cleck  and four other members.

It shall with the prior approval of Parliament make regulations by Constitutional Instrument, prescribing the terms and conditions of Service of the officers and other employees in the Parliamentry Service as well as generally see to the effective and efficient administation of Parliamentry Service.

The motion for the approval of the Board was moved by the majority leader and seconded by the Deputy minorty leader, Ambrose  P. Dery.

Contributing to the motion, MP for Atwima- Mponua ,Isaac Asiamah  pointed out that the Board is crucial in ensuring the effective administration of the legislature among other duties.