FEATURED: Why Are Black People Obsessed With The Bible That Was Used To Enslave ...

13.10.2008 Social News

Management of MTN supports GJA


Management of Mobile Telecommunications Network (MTN) Ghana on Monday presented a cheque for 65,000 Ghana cedis to the National Executive Committee of Ghana Journalists Association (GJA) towards the 13th GJA Awards Night and announced an additional three-year sponsorship package.

Ms Mawuena Dumor, Corporate Services Executive of MTN Ghana, said the gesture was to deepen MTN's partnership with the media, adding this was crucial to sustain not only its business but national development as well.

The support, she said, was also linked up with MTN's tradition of rewarding excellence to help build the professional capacity of the Ghanaian media.

Describing the support as a holistic package, Ms Dumor explained that half of the amount would be used for the purchase of lap top computers and modems for award winners to enhance the media's access to building global networks and information gathering.

She expressed MTN's further commitment to help develop some professional aspects of the media to gain global recognition.

MTN Ghana last year supported the GJA Awards with 20,000 Ghana cedis.
GJA President, Ransford Tetteh, thanked MTN for the support, adding that the media was ready to extend a hand of partnership to all corporate institutions.

He, however, pointed out that such partnerships would not compromise the media's role in being critical of issues.

Mr Tetteh urged all journalists to continue to put in their best, especially on issues bordering on the December 7 polls, paying critical attention to the principles of fairness, accuracy and balance.

This year's media award, which comes off on Saturday, October 25 at the Banquet Hall, State House in Accra, would be on the theme: "Using the Media to Promote National Unity and Stability in an Election Year".

In attendance would be the inky fraternity from Togo, Cote d'Ivoire and the Democratic Republic of Congo.

The awards planning committee would announce award winners next Monday, October 20.