Modern Ghana logo

FEATURED: Are Muslims Victims Or Promoters Of Terrorism?...

20.12.2007 Sports News

Senegal choose 38-man squad

By GBC News
Senegal choose 38-man squad

Senegal coach Henri Kasperczak has named a 38-man preliminary squad for next month's African Cup of Nations finals in Ghana.

Captain El Hadji Diouf heads a squad which includes five players who have never previously been called up by the 61-year-old trainer.

Reading's Ibrahima Sonko is in line for his first Senegalese cap, as is fellow centre-back Ibrahima Khouma Gueye who plays for Red Star Belgrade in Serbia.

Meanwhile, there is a surprise return for left-back Omar Daf, 30, who has not played for the Teranga Lions since Egypt 2006 because of a series of injuries.

The France-based duo of midfielder Kader Mangane and forward Souleymane Camara are the other names called up for the first time under Kasperczak.

The squad lists five goalkeepers as the former Polish international continues his search for a number three behind regular starter Tony Sylva and Cheikh Tidiane Ndiaye.

There is not one domestic-based player on the 38-man list, which must be trimmed to 23 by 10 January.

Senegal open their Group D campaign against Tunisia on 23 January before then facing Angola and South Africa.


Goalkeepers: Kalidou Cissokho (Baki, Azerbaijan), Bouna Coundoul (Colorado Rapids, USA), Cheikh Tidiane Ndiaye (Creteil, France), Issa Ndoye (Zob Ahan, Iran), Tony Sylva (Lille, France)

Defenders: Habib Bèye (Newcastle, England), Ferdinand Coly (Parma, Italy), Omar Daf (Sochaux, France), Lamine Diatta (Besiktas, Turkey), Souleymane Diawara (Bordeaux, France), Boukhary Dramé (Sochaux, France), Abdoulaye Diagne Faye (Newcastle Utd, England), Ibrahima Faye (Troyes, France), Ibrahima Khouma Guèye (Red Star Belgrade, Serbia), Cheikh Guèye (FC Metz, France), Pascal Mendy (Kaunas FC, Lithuania), Mouhamed Adama Sarr (Standard Liège, Belgium), Ibrahima Sonko (Reading, England)

Midfielders: Malick Bâ (FC Basel, Switzerland), Pape Bouba Diop (Portsmouth, England), Babacar Guèye (Metz, France), Diomansy Kamara (Fulham, England), Abdel Kader Mangane (RC Lens, France), Frédéric Mendy (Bastia, France), Guirane Ndaw (Sochaux, France), Moussa Ndiaye (UMM Salal Sport Club, Qatar), Pape Waïgo Ndiaye (Genoa, Italy), Ousmane Ndoye (Academica Coimbra, Portugal), Bayal Sall (St Etienne, France), Badara Sène (Sochaux, France), Modou Sougou (Uniao Leira, Portugal)

Forwards: Demba Bâ (Hoffenheim, Germany), Henri Camara (West Ham Utd, England), Souleymane Camara (Montpellier, France), El Hadji Diouf (Bolton Wanderers, England), Momar Ndiaye (Metz, France), Mamadou Niang (Marseille, France), Ibrahima Sidibé (Debrecen, Hungary)