ModernGhana logo
20.04.2005 Sports News

ANOCA committees inaugurated

Listen to article

Accra, April 20, GNA - Twelve committees tasked with ensuring the successful hosting of the 11th General Assembly of the Association of National Olympic Committees of Africa (ANOCA) were inaugurated in Accra on Wednesday.

Mr John Osei Feimpong, Special Assistant to the Minister of Education and Sports performed the ceremony at the Hospitality Centre of the Ohene Djan Sports Stadium on behalf of the Minister. In his inaugural speech, the Minister called on members of the Committees to work hard to ensure that Ghana records a landmark success in the hosting of the Congress.

He said the Congress must be seen as an important event that could raise the profile of Ghana if it was well organised and called on all Ghanaians to pull their resources together to ensure its success. The 12 committees comprise Protocol, Accommodation and Feeding, Transport, Sponsorship, Medical, Media Relations, Security, Banquet, Tourism and Entertainment, Secretariat and Organising.

In his contribution, Mr Benson Tongo Baba, President of the Ghana Olympic Committee said the selection of Ghana over Zimbabwe by a 33 to 19 vote was an honour done the country and called on those charged with ensuring the success of the Congress to sacrifice to meet the expectations of the international community.

He said the Congress would bring into the country, distinguished visitors including Mr Jacques Rogge, President of the International Olympic Committee and other dignitaries from the International Olympic family.

Mr Baba said since it will be the final meeting of the Olympic Family before the selection of the host city for the 2012 Olympics, representatives of all bidding cities would be present to lobby for votes.

The GOC president said the presence of such high profile sporting personalities would boost the hospitality and handicraft industries, while re-emphasising Ghana's position as the gate way to Africa. He assured Ghanaians that the IOC would support more projects in Ghana after a thorough appraisal of the facilities on the ground, adding that everything must be done to make the stay of the visitors a memorable one.

Below are the various Committees and the constitution of their membership.


Mr. Atiemo, Chairman, Mr B.T. Baba co-Chairman, Mr. C.S. Sackey, Dr Deboprah Cubagee, Mr. Albert Tettey, The Regional Coordinating Council Rep., Dr Hunry Pufaa, Dr E. Owusu Ansah, Mr. Ebo Quansah, Mr. Albert Agboso, Mr. Kwame Banuako Minsitry of Tourism, State Protocol Rep., Police Service Rep., Military Rep., Mr. B.R. Ayisi (Secretary)


State Protocol Rep., chairman, National Security Rep., (Castle Annex) Military Rep., Mrs. Catherine Hoffman, Police Service Rep., Ghana Immigration Service Rep., CEPS Rep., Mr. A.A. Nee-Annang, Mr. Patrick Agordjor, Ministry of foreign Affairs Rep., Mr. Dawson Ahmoah, Ms P. Owusu-Sarpong, DSP Margaret Dangah, Mrs Elizabeth Quarmyne, Mrs Belinda Prince-Agbodza 3. Mr.G.B. Awuakye (Secretary)


Mr. Frank Appiah, Chairman, Mr. Albert Tettey, Mr. R.O. Lamptey, Mr. Sam Aryeh, Mrs Helena Williams, Ms P. Owusu-Sarpong, Mr. Patrick Agordjor, Mr. Sandy Osei Agyeman, Mr. Saka Acquaye (Secretary)


The State Protocol Rep., Chairman, MTTU Rep., Mr G.B., Awuakye, Mr. E.E. Wilson, Mr. Justus Agbeko, Mr Eddie Blay 7. Mr. Padi k. Abraham, Mr. Egnatius Elletey Secretary)


Mr. Frank Appiah, Chairman, Mr. Asante Duodo (DHL) Mr Ben Taylor, Nana Duncan (GCB) Mr Kodjo Dadzie, Ms Paulina Mensah, Mr. Oko Nikoi Dzani, Ms Angelina Ocran, Mrs J. Mahamah, Ms Alizabeth King, Mr. Rex Brobbey, Mrs. Helena Williams, Mr. Fiifi Banson, Mr. Fred Moraux, Ms. Gifty Annan-Myres, Mr. P.D. Vanderpuye-Orgle, Mr. Samuel Asante (Secretary)


Dr. Deborah Cubagee, Chairman, Dr. Aboagye (Police Hospital) Dr.G.K. Fordjour (37 Military Hospital) Ridge Hospital Rep., Dr. Hodasi (Korle Bu) Dr Engman (Stadium Clinic) Mr. Patrick Anyidoho (Secretary)


Mr. Matthews Mac Kwame, Chairman, Mr. Felix Abayete, Mr. Christian Abbew, Mr. Richard Avornyotse, Mr George Lartey, Mr. J.Z,X.X.X. Ackom, Mr. E.D. Nikoi, Mr. Prince Annan, Mr. Nat Laryea, Mr. Charles Osei Asibey, Mr. Kwabena Yeboah, Mr. Anthony Ackah, Mr. James Arthur, Ms Rosalind Amoo, Ms Eva Okyere, Ms Rosalind Gaise, Mr Seth Osabukle, Mr. Ebo Hanson Mr. Emmanuel Amponsah, Mr John Vigah, Mr. Maurice Quansah Mr. Esuman Swanzy, Mr. Mohammed Alhassan, Mr. Kofi Aggrey 3. Mr. Issah Hamid (Secretary)


National Security Council Rep., Chairman, Military Rep., ACP J.A. Yakubu, ASP Abraham Acquaye, Military Police Rep., BNI Rep., COP Gifty Anim Botchway, Sq Ldr. Ebo Bartels, DSP Twumasi Ankrah (Secretary)


Dr. Deborah Cubagee, Chairman, State Protocol Rep., Ghana Tourist Board Rep., Mrs Elizabeth Quarmyne, Ms Elizabeth King National Security Rep., Mr Eddie Duplan, Ms. Ethel Jacks Mrs Zenabu Osei-Akoto, Mr Francis Kpesenu (Secretary)


Mr.E.E. Komla, Ministry of Tourism, Chairman, AMA Rep., Ghana Tourist Board Rep., Mr. Jeff Abeasi, Mr. Emil Misodey, Ms Vasti Hammond, Mr. Kwame Asare, Mr.E. Oteng Aboagye (Secretary)


Mr. Albert Tettey, Chairman, Dr.E. Owusu-Ansah, Mr. Ben Dzokoto, Mr. J.K. Aduakwa, Mr. B.R. Ayisi, Ms Mabel Ardayfio, Mr. C.K. Attah, Mr. Rex Brobbey, Mr. Erasmus Adorkor, Mr. E. Jerry-Kanfrah, Mr. Bennet Kpentey, Mr. Mrs Patience Yeboah, Mr. A.A. Nee-Annang, Secretary


Mrs. Belinda Prince-Agbodza, Chairperson, Mrs Betty Agyaako-Danso, Mrs. Elizabeth Quarmyne, Mrs Hellena Williams, Ms Christian Dodoo, Mrs Mary Akrofi, Ms.Grace Asiam, Secretary, GNA RA

ModernGhana Links

Join our Newsletter