FEATURED: Breaking News: Amidu Resigns As Special Prosecutor Over Agyapa Deal Tr...

04.04.2009 Hockey

Seven sub-committees of Africa Hockey Federation inaugurated

By gna
Listen to article

The Local Organising Committee (LOC) of the Africa Hockey Federation (AfHF) Cup of Nations, to be staged in Ghana, on Friday inaugurated seven sub-committees to organize a successful organization of the championship.

The seven sub-committees will deal with various aspects of the organization and hosting of the championship.

The committees include Accommodation and Transportation; Protocol, Arrivals, Departures and Ceremonies; Medical and Doping; Security, Volunteers and Accreditation; Technical and Fields; Marketing and Media Relations and Team Relations and Matches Coordination.

Mr Abuga Pele, Chairman of the LOC who inaugurated the sub-committees on Friday urged the members to go the extra mile to ensure that they leave a lasting legacy for the nation as well as ensure growth in sports tourism and investment aspirations of Ghana.

He said the tournament also presents Ghana with the opportunity to exploit several advantages to brand Ghana beyond her popularity in football.

Mr Pele said Ghana must also keep up with the standard of ensuring that the 2009 championship becomes the best compared to the previous one, adding that the nation can also use the occasion to whip up the interest of the youth in other sporting disciplines.

The Accommodation and Transportation Committee is made up of Frank Awuku – Chairman, Kwaku Awuah Nyamekye, Edward Addo, Jemima Odonkor, Leeford Quarshie, Kwesi Mantey and a representative of the Accra Metropolitan Assembly.

Nii Quaye Kumah – Chairman, Evelyn Akaba, Elizabeth King, D.S.P. Grace Armah, Nafisa Mahama and a representative each from the Ghana Immigration Service and Ministry of Foreign Affairs make-up the Protocol, Arrivals, Departures and Ceremonies Sub-Committee whilst Dr. Apeagyei – Chairman, Dr. Ceeba Yahuza, Dr. Martin Engmann, Dr Agbeko Ocloo, Dr. Joseph Ogyedu and Hilda Addah complete the Medical and Doping Sub-Committee.

The Security, Volunteers and Accreditation Sub-Committee has Melvin Brown – Chairman, Bartholomew Kukubour, Frank Lartey, Vicentia Nikoi, ACP Avorgah, D. G. Timbillah, Lt (Gen) Anthony Kofi Sarfo and DSP Samuel Asiedu Okanta whilst Richard Akpokavie - Chairman, Kenneth Johnfia, Akrofi Mantey, Richard Ofosu, Angelina Ocran, Supt. Agyamin, Eric Nkansah-Dwamena and Denis Amoa Ababio constitute the Technical and Fields Sub-Committee.

The Marketing and Media Relations Sub-Committee is constituted by Magnus Rex Danquah as the Chairman, Kwame Essah, Daniel Kenu, Neil Armstrong-Mortagbe, Veronica Commey-Mensah, Charles Osei Asibey, Ken Ashiebey, Yaw Ampofo Ankrah, Kwaku Owusu Adoumi, Kofi Adounum and Kofi Aggrey with Capt. Andy Sam - Chairman, Lomo Manu, Mawuli Ocloo, Margaret Akofio-Sowah, Seth Bimpong, Dr. Moses Aikins and Nii Kpani Addy forming the Team Relations and Matches Coordination Sub-Committee.


Modern Ghana Links