07.09.2020 Tennis

Novak Djokovic's US Open Disqualification Right Decision, Says Tim Henman

Novak Djokovic (right) was on a run of 26 matches unbeaten
LISTEN SEP 7, 2020
Novak Djokovic (right) was on a run of 26 matches unbeaten

World number one Novak Djokovic's US Open disqualification was "no doubt the right decision", says former British number one Tim Henman.

The Serb, 33, was defaulted after striking a line judge with the ball in Sunday's fourth-round match against Pablo Carreno Busta in New York.

After a lengthy discussion, he was defaulted by tournament officials.

Henman told Amazon Prime: "He was not aiming for the official, but you're responsible for your actions."

He added: "There was no other consequence.
"We saw a couple of points earlier when he whacked the ball into the advertising hoardings. He was frustrated."

Henman was 20 when he was disqualified from Wimbledon in 1995 for a similar incident, where he accidentally struck a ball girl during a men's doubles match.

Djokovic showed his frustration after losing serve to trail 6-5 against Spain's 20th seed Carreno Busta, taking a ball out of his pocket and hitting it behind him, striking the female line judge in her throat.

Henman added: "It's amazing for me to talk about this. It was a moment of frustration for me too - I hit the ball away when I wasn't looking and I hit a ball girl."

There was another incident more recently when, in 2017, Canada's Denis Shapovalov was defaulted from a decisive Davis Cup rubber with Britain's Kyle Edmund for hitting the ball in anger and striking the umpire in the face.

ModernGhana Links