Modern Ghana logo

FEATURED: Can We Blame Religion For Africa’s Economic Woes?...

07.06.2005 NPP News

Angry NPP Youth On Rampage

The Independent

Dunkwa-On-Offin -- Disenchanted and angry New Patriotic Party (NPP) youth in the Upper Denkyira District on Monday, June 06, 2005 began tearing up all posters of President John Agyekum Kufuor and destroying billboards and other publicly displayed NPP paraphernalia they came across.

The angry youth have vowed to make the district ungovernable until what they term "undemocratic tendencies," which creeping into the party in the district, are discarded. They have also threatened to teach a lesson to all those they suspect to have had a hand in what they further term a grand conspiracy against six government appointees of the Upper Denkyira District Assembly who have been dismissed.

The youth have cast their beams of suspicion on Minister of Local Government and Rural Development, Mr Charles Bintim, and, the Acting District Chief Executive (DCE), Mr Richard Anane Adabor, accusing them of masterminding the dismissals. The angry youth, who said they are not sure President Kufuor is aware of what is happening in the district, went on rampage just hours after announcing they would embark on a massive demonstration against government over the grievances.

According to the party youth, Mr Bintim is reported to have told the Assembly at its meeting last Wednesday that government appointees to the Assembly are not supposed to vote against a DCE who has been nominated by the President for confirmation by the Assembly and that if there is a strong suspicion to the contrary the government would not hesitate to revoke the app9intment of the appointees involved.

It is upon the basis of that, The Independent learnt, that the Upper Denkyira District Assembly revoked the appointment of the six government appointees, who are reported to have vowed to vote against the retention of the acting DCE who has been renominated by the president.

The Independent also learnt that dismissal letters have already been served on the affected appointees who include Mr Atta Denteh, Upper Denkyira East Constituency Chairman of the NPP and, Mr Joseph Wadie, also a constituency Executive Member of the party. Information available to The Independent indicates that the six affected government appointees has their appointment revoked last Friday and as a result they cease to be Assembly member fortwith.