ModernGhana logo
11.01.2005 Politics

EC releases final results of Election 2004

Listen to article

Accra, Jan. 11, GNA - President John Agyekum Kufuor, Candidate of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) in Election 2004, obtained 4,524,074, representing 52.45 per cent of the valid votes cast, to win Election 2004, according to final figures released by the Electoral Commission (EC) on Tuesday.

Professor John Evans Atta Mills, Candidate of the National Democratic Congress (NDC), got 3,850,368 votes representing 44.64 per cent, to place second.

Dr Edward Nasigre Mahama, Candidate of the People's National Convention (PNC) had 165,375 votes, representing 1.92 per cent while Mr George Aggudey of the Convention People's Party (CPP) obtained 85,968 votes, representing 1.0 per cent. The results are yet to be gazetted. The EC said 8,813,908 votes were cast giving a voter-turnout of 85.12 per cent while 188,123 ballots representing 2.13 per cent of the ballots cast were rejected. Total number of voters on the Voters' Register is 10,354,970.

President Kufuor had his biggest number of votes from the Ashanti Region where he polled 1,235,395 votes or 74.61 per cent and his lowest number of votes, 68,238 votes or 32.23 per cent came from the Upper West Region. His lowest in percentage terms was, however, in the Volta Region where obtained 100,659 votes representing 14.26 per cent.

President Kufuor won the majority of votes in six regions - Ashanti; Western, 463,990 (56.64 per cent); Central, 414,339 (58.57 per cent); Greater Accra, 910,159 (51.99 per cent); Eastern, 554,933 (60.27 per cent) and Brong Ahafo, 396,461 (51.96 per cent).

Professor Mills won the majority of votes in four regions - Volta, 591,696 (83.83 per cent); Northern, 430,818 (56.94 per cent); Upper East, 180,462 (53.90 per cent) and Upper West, 119,982 (56.67 per cent). The Greater Accra Region gave Prof. Mills his highest votes of 811,833 representing 46.37 per cent followed by Volta, Northern and Ashanti with 398,362 representing 24.06 per cent, in that order.

Dr Mahama's best showing was in the Upper East Region where he won 12.68 per cent (42,460 votes) while Mr Aggudey's best performance was in the Northern Region where he won 1.77 per cent (13,426 votes). In the Parliamentary Election, the NPP won 128 seats, the NDC 94, PNC four, CPP three and one Independent.

The NPP won 36 out of the 39 seats in the Ashanti Region; 14 of the 24 seats in the Brong Ahafo Region; 16 of the 19 seats in the Central Region; 22 of the 28 seats in the Eastern Region; 16 of the 27 seats in the Greater Accra Region; eight out of the 26 seats in the Northern Region; two out of 13 seats in the Upper East Region; one of the 10 seats in the Upper West Region; one of the 22 seats in the Volta Region and 12 of the 22 seats in the Western Region.

The NDC won three seats in the Ashanti Region; 10 in Brong Ahafo; two in Central; six in Eastern; 11 in Greater Accra; 17 in Northern; nine in Upper East; seven in Upper West; 21 in Volta and eight in Western Regions.

The PNC won two seats each in the Upper East and Upper West Regions, the CPP had two seats in the Western Region and one in the Central Region while the Independent candidate is from the Northern Region.

Join our Newsletter