ModernGhana logo
24.10.2004 Politics

Nine candidates filed to contest elections in Kwaebibrem

Listen to article

Kade (E/R), Oct. 24, GNA - Four candidates filed their nominations, on Friday with the Electoral Commission (EC) to contest for the Akwatia seat in the Kwaebibrem District, in the December 2004 parliamentary elections.

The Kwaebibrem District Electoral Officer, Mr Kwaku Owusu Addo told the Ghana News Agency that the candidates included the incumbent NPP MP, Mr Kingston Akomeng Kissi, Mr Baba Jamal Ahmed Mohammed, 35-year-old NDC Deputy General Secretary, Mr Samuel Adjei for the CPP and Mr Eric Nomotey Totimeh for the EGLE.

Four candidates filed to contest the Upper West Akim seat at Asamankese while seven filed for the Lower West Akim seat at Adeiso, at the close of nominations on Friday.

For the Upper West Akim seat, Mr James Appietu-Ankrah, 56, filed for the NPP, Mr Martin Bruce Opare, 48, NDC, Mr Richard Darlington Senoo, 36, CPP and Mr Alfred Awortwe Afful, 43, EGLE Those for the Lower West Akim seat included Mr Samuel Sallas Mensah, 50, the incumbent NDC MP, Nana Yaw Asare Koranteng, 44, for NPP and Madam Agnes Akwetey Adorshie, 44, for the PNC.

The rest were Mr John Martey, 30, for the CPP, Nana Asabir Nkum, 49, EGLE, Mr Raymond Kwame Akuffo, 47 and Mr Salifu Alaru, both Independent candidates.

Join our Newsletter