ModernGhana logo
21.10.2004 Politics

Parliamentary candidates in Upper East file nominations

Listen to article

Bolgatanga, Oct. 21, GNA- As at mid-day on Thursday October 21, 20 parliamentary candidates from five constituencies in the Upper East Region had filed their nominations for the parliamentary election in December.

In the Zebilla Constituency, Mr John Ndebugre Akparibo, (PNC), Mr Cletus Apul Avoka (NDC) and Mr Moses Appiah Abare (NPP) had presented their nominations to local returning officer of the Electoral Commission.

Mr Mahama Ayariga (NDC), Mr Tiapan Kunduma (CPP), Miss Hawah Yakubu (NPP), Mr Abubakari Jibril Ustaz (Independent) and Mr Sadat Amadu (Independent) also filed in the Bawku Central constituency. In Bolgatanga Central, Mr David Apasara (PNC), Mr Opam Brown (NDC), Mrs Evelyn Anabilla Lamisi (CPP), Mr Solomon Atia Awuni (DPP) and Mr Amosi Baba Julius (Independent) filed their nominations.

In Navrongo Central constituency, Mr Donald Amoah (Independent), Ms Azantilow Jennifer (CPP), Mr Gabriel Pwamang (PNC), Madam Bagonia Grace (DPP), Mr Emmanuel Andena (NDC) and Mr Otito Achuliwor (Independent) also registered their candidature.

Only one candidate, Mr Barichie T. Yakubu of CPP, filed in the Binduri Constituency as at mid-day on Thursday.

The region currently has 13 constituencies, and aspiring candidates from the remaining 8 constituencies were expected to file their nominations before the deadline, Thursday October 21.

Speaking to the Ghana News Agency (GNA) in Bolgatanga, Mr Adam Iddrisu, Regional Director of the Electoral Commission, gave the remaining constituencies as Builsa North, Chiana-Paga, Bongo, Pusiga, Garu-Tempane, Nabdam, Builsa South and Talensi.

Join our Newsletter